Generating excitement in the Age of Over-saturation

It’s always confusing to see which of our efforts seem to get peoples attention and get them excited. As someone who produces a whole lot of blogs, fiction, music and lazily made vlogs…it’s always hard to understand what drives people to read or watch or listen.

Trust is a big part of getting peoples attention but that’s not enough. You need to be able to get people excited. There are some things that make it easier to get excited, and some things that make it harder…but there is also a lot of unpredictable factors, such a timing, saturation, and certain blond spots that we have as creators.

We can never truly know how other people see our work. All we can do is imagine.

I think a lot about why some posts do better than others. Still, I’m not about to adjust my artistic output just because people are more active on certain days. I like to write every day. If some posts get lost, so be it. I can save some in drafts for a few hours or days if it helps but I’m not going to be overly strategic about it. What I do requires a level of natural inspiration. I can make adjustments but none that seriously hamper the process.

I find that visuals move people the most. They require little investment and fit our modern ADHD lifestyle. That’s part of the reason NFT art took off before blockchain blogging did. Games are engaging and addictive so they pull a certain kind of person on easily. Music is easier than video and video is easier than fiction.

The less investment, the easier to draw people in, but less investment means people leave as easily as they come. It’s not hard to find a YouTube video with 100k views and then the same user gets 50-100 views on everything else. Meanwhile, I expect that most people who read my fiction are likely to continue doing so if they like it.

How does one generate excitement for art that requires more investment though? Well I’m not really sure. Word of mouth does wonders, but you can’t go and ask people to start recommending your work to people…I mean you CAN but I don’t know if it works.

My best solution to this problem so far is to “be more awesome”. Be funnier, be more exciting, be more profound, be more inviting.

At the same time, as content creation becomes a common profession, and decentralization takes hold we are going to end up scaling down our idea of what we consider popular. YouTube, Hollywood movies and the music industry have set our expectations incredibly high with sales and views in the multi-millions. Look at Canaletto television though. Now everyone watches different things. It used to be easy to get a million viewers if you were on a major station. Now there are too many choices.

It’ll only continue to grow and compound, and so I believe within a few years, most of us will be following people who have far fewer views. On Twitter you feel that 1000 retweets or more is successful. How about at Hive?

While I do think Hive will bring more and more of an audience to our content as our app Arsenal grows…we will never create celebrities the likes ok Pewdie Pie or Kim Kardasian. And why do we need to?

We would be better off as a species if our attention was decentralized, and better yet if we all consumed a variety of different kinds of perspectives to understand people with different ideas and different backgrounds.

I think that’s the direction we are going.

pexels-rakicevic-nenad-1274260.jpg

Seth Godin says “Find you smallest viable audience” and this concept is the sole reasoning behind my warming up towards “marketing”. I think he’s on to something. More and more people realize that you can make a perfectly good living with a few hundred followers, so long as those followers are loyal enough. With protocols like proof of brain, you could potentially make a living with one single supporter!

I personally think a few thousand would be nice, at least at this stage. My reasoning for this is simply that I want to travel to all different parts of the globe and have the opportunity to meet incredible people, including some of my favorite artists and creators. The idea of spending a week in an unfamiliar city and already having people who introduce me to comfortable, creative and fun environments and amazing people, it’s so exciting to me.

It also feels like at that point, I’ve probably had a positive impact on enough people that I feel I’ve done my part for humanity. At the same time, I am trying not to expect that I have any impact on humanity whatsoever because this desire comes from vanity. I allow myself this vanity only so long as I can remain content even if I fail to have such an impact on the world. A world without me is still just as valid as a world with me, but I’m here so I might as well play the whole human/life game, have a vision and work towards it, shape the world a little if I am so able to.

I am playing this all by ear but I think this new decentralized world fits me pretty well. I never understood the appeal of massive celebrity anyway. I just want to be able to have a positive relationship with the world and the people I interact with and always have new things to explore. 😃

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My music:

My lazy vlogs:

my mini-novella series:

Confessions of the Damaged

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join us in Hive Cross Culture where we talk and share ideas about Culture, language and travel and share any bilingual content. Join our discord

We also have a @crossculture account curating bilingual posts and running contests to support local communities. If you like what we do, please consider delegating to @crossculture or follow our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

I'm also getting much more involved with Natural Medicine, Hoping to help them connect and reward autonomous and conscious communities around the world.

Consider buying the LOTUS token at leofinance.io 's LeoDex or posting at naturalmedicine.io where you can browse posts about healthy lifestyles, spirituality, farming, yoga, psychedelics, healing techniques and more. All your posts will automatically appear at the Natural Medicine community at Hive and you can earn LOTUS and HIVE.

Help us spread the word by liking and sharing posts by Natural Medicine on Twitter and Instagram

ErqYbnvU0AMeaO_.jfif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency