Bypass advertising with the network effect

Those of you who know me know how much I dislike advertising. I don’t enjoy trying to sell myself. I don’t want to feel like a product that I have to convince you to buy. I’m glad to have come to the realization that I won’t have to do any of that.

I’ve recently discovered that all the pieces have been set by my actions on Hive and at work, in my studies and in my artwork…everything is right there waiting for me to connect, and this network effect will make any advertising unnecessary.

I spent a long time trying to separate my art from my work. I was so worried that my true personality would turn off potential clients or that my image at work would contradict with the art I make and the blogs I write.

I didn’t see that these two sides of myself could build on each other in a way that neither could alone. The only thing necessary was to take a risk and -allowing these different versions of myself to merge, to stop being scared of alienating a few people, and then to create a bridge between my different worlds.

If my students don’t like my Hive articles, they don’t have to read them. If they really hate them, they probably shouldn’t be my students. This was a scary thought, but on the other hand, who is to say that I can’t find a student from my articles? Who is to say that I can’t find people interested in reading my novel or listening to my music from among my students.

I have built multiple network of interesting, kind, amazing people, at Hive, on Twitter, in Tokyo, and from places I’ve traveled. Why would I try to cordon off these different people from each other? Just because I’m scared someone will think I’m too much of a hippie or too much of a sell out? I’m worried that some friends won’t like what I blog about, or it’ll be harder to keep secrets.

0D87251B-D391-47AB-8088-813A2FAA5EFD.jpeg

This new world rewards openness and network building far more than the old one. At the same time, it’s not just for my benefit. My friends in real life, my friends at hive and my students would probably really benefit from knowing each other. I am actually doing them a disservice by keeping everything separate.

That’s why I’ve started showing my blog to students and creating opportunities to meet my friends. I’ve introduced Hive to a few friends who I had been keeping it a secret from. I talk about it openly. I don’t push anyone to join, I just mention all the cool stuff I’m doing there and the people I meet.

“I was talking to my friend from Venezuela and…”

“How do you know people in Venezuela?”

Hive ;-)
—-
“You look happy today.”

“Well bitcoin is up 5%”

“Ah you are into crypto…only bitcoin?”

“Mostly bitcoin and Hive, kind of a monetized social media coin…”

And then they ask questions.

“Yeah if you wanna join just let me know”.
—-
I actually have a lot more plans for integrating Hive into my work life and have already started, but I’ll leave the details a secret for a little while longer 😃 I will probably reveal them in the form of a post directed at them instead of my Hive friends. Also planning a Hive Twitter campaign for a certain Hashtag that I have many followers from (non-crypto related).

It’s funny. I actually found that the people I was most nervous about sharing my blog with were the ones most interested in it. That’s how things play out sometimes.

So think about how you might be able to benefit by bridging the different parts of your life. How many people could you be holding off from getting to know each other? What if your friends soul mate happens to be your client but you are too shy to let them meet? What if your friend could have changed their life through Hive but you pushed it too hard and made them think it was a scam instead of just casually mentioning it whenever it was filling your mind?

The opportunities we have in front of us are literally endless. I plan on finding my future clients, business partners and artistic collaborators on Hive, or finding them elsewhere but letting them know about Hive in a non-aggressive way so that they can see just how much it has to offer.

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

If you like this post, you’ll surely like what I share at Youtube:

Confessions of the Damaged - Out Now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join us in Hive Cross Culture where we talk and share ideas about Culture, language and travel and share any bilingual content. Join our discord

We also have a @crossculture account curating bilingual posts and running contests to support local communities. If you like what we do, please consider delegating to @crossculture or follow our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

I'm also getting much more involved with Natural Medicine, Hoping to help them connect and reward autonomous and conscious communities around the world.

Consider buying the LOTUS token at leofinance.io 's LeoDex or posting at naturalmedicine.io where you can browse posts about healthy lifestyles, spirituality, farming, yoga, psychedelics, healing techniques and more. All your posts will automatically appear at the Natural Medicine community at Hive and you can earn LOTUS and HIVE.

Help us spread the word by liking and sharing posts by Natural Medicine on Twitter and Instagram

ErqYbnvU0AMeaO_.jfif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency