Breaking free from the cocoon

As usually I'm balancing 100 different things. I don't know if it's a bad habit or if it's just my style. Perhaps it's my way of adapting to the modern world and it's rhythm. I know some people prefer to take it slow, but I need to be stimulated, otherwise I end up totally isolating myself and discarding everything.

I'll be moving in the beginning of October. The room is 3 minutes away from here by foot and 5 minutes from the station. It's slightly bigger, actually has a window and a balcony (small balcony), a private kitchen and a bathtub. I guess I'm most excited about it have two rooms so the two of us don't drive each other crazy, although it'll be nice to take a bath instead of just a shower, and it may make my neighbors uncomfortable because it's not normal in Tokyo, but I plan on putting a chair on the balcony. There isn't that much sunlight, but that's ok. I'll pretend I'm smoking cigarettes.

Funny enough, this is hardly the thing that consumes my thoughts these days. There is a whole lot more going on up there. The main thing on my mind these days is Hive and Twitter. I am using Twitter to create a community on discord to bridge my business and Hive, spread my work and create a cool network effect between all the things I'm doing. 20 minutes on twitter, a blog a day here, and then making sure the chats are active. It’s a lot of work but I’m passionate about what this is leading to.

It’s usually hard for me to work towards something that has no guaranteed pay off. Writing and teaching doesn’t drain me though, and for the first time in my life I have enough saved up for an emergency, even if it’s not much more than that. It makes it a lot easier to focus. Maybe that’s why it’s so hard for most people to change their position. Having a safety net makes it a whole lot easier to jump. I suppose it takes one or two times jumping without that safety net to build a safety net though.

I do very little that looks like work but actually I’m extremely busy all day. They say monkeys start to lose their shit after their social circle becomes larger than 100 monkeys. I probably have a few thousand monkeys I’m juggling, but at least I know which monkeys are the most important to me.

I keep thinking about searching for a new part time job to keep my visa sponsorship because my current company looks like it's going to close up shop eventually and I'm not ready to start my own company just yet. But first, I have to move and make sure I can keep all my communities afloat.

Social media is not easy, but I’ll take it over old school advertising methods any day. It can be a little frustrating giving away so much for free while watching people pay money for things that literally suck their life force out of them. Fast food, meaningless sex, trends that feed on their insecurities. Still, I have to believe that eventually all the giving will lead people to trust me, and that in turn will lead to a smoother, more abundant life.

The hardest thing about society for me is that everything is that people are so numb from advertising and other attempts to get to their wallet (or into their pants etc) that they can’t recognize something genuine. I’ve never been able to hide my true feelings very well and misleading and manipulating people purely for personal benefit has always made me feel sick. When you feel that way about those who deceive, it’s really frustrating when others think you are playing them the same way they’ve been played before.

We’ve gotten so accustomed to fast food that we don’t even know what’s good for us anymore.

If it takes some extra effort now to build a system that’s so beneficial to others that there is no room for doubt, then I guess that’s what I have to do.

I think this is life’s way of telling me that I’m meant to do great things. If I were meant to be any old teacher or writer or speaker, things would have been easier, but if you want to be a real boss at life, you gotta be ready get knocked down a few times, countless times even.

While most people choose one or two main areas of focus, here I am trying to become the Elon Musk of Art and Culture. That’s exactly what I am working towards. It’s not something that I WANT. I feel it in my bones. I don’t get off on the idea of greatness, I just can’t settle for anything less. At the very least I have to know that I put in the effort and made a good plan, did the inner work and keep faith in myself and faith in the world.

Noam Chomsky is known for his contributions to both language and politics. I don’t see why I can’t be an accomplished in those fields and also make fiction and music that moves people plus help connect and strengthen communities. A novel, an album, a few courses in self development, a podcast, a business, a blog, a cafe, an art venue, a school. Why do I have to choose one? There are those who are the best in a single field, but I want to connect all these different fields. Obviously I can’t focus on all of them at once, but I’m slowly finding ways to combine different targets and compound the benefit they provide. Creating is fun, I love every part of this. The only thing left for this to be in full butterfly mode is a little extra income so I can start sponsoring my own visa without anyone else’s help. Until then I still feel like I’m just barely cracking my head outside the cocoon, but I’ve already wrapped myself up and so I’ve got to break free sooner or later.

I feel a changing tide though, specifically in the last week. I can’t tell you what it means but I notice many things changing. Perhaps it’s almost time…

20F3EBE8-CE34-46D7-92CA-7A15C3891C10.jpeg

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My music:

My lazy vlogs:

my mini-novella series:

Confessions of the Damaged - Out Now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join us in Hive Cross Culture where we talk and share ideas about Culture, language and travel and share any bilingual content. Join our discord

We also have a @crossculture account curating bilingual posts and running contests to support local communities. If you like what we do, please consider delegating to @crossculture or follow our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency