Cultures I would like to know China @jizzyjoe

Hello everyone, there are so many country one wishes to visit once in a while. Some have been opportune to travel to different countries while some like myself have also been opportune to travel through our imagination and dreams haha, but they are all classified as traveling right🙈. Anyways, I have my aspiration to travel to China but most times I tend to misunderstand some practices of Korea to China because they tend to act a bit similar. This is a contest of cross culture community by @ceparl



PicsArt_112407.53.01.jpg
Source

I have not really taken my time to read the culture and history of China but their movies tell a lot about the country. From all I have seen so far its a beautiful country and a nice place to be even though I have not being there, I have come to love them. There are some things I would love to know or enlighten on relating to their culture and background.

Population

download 1.jpeg
Source

According to UN data, China has 1,439,323,776 people which makes the country one of the largest populated country in the world. It was said that a law was introduced to restrict the number of children in each family in other to reduce or regulate the population growth, I also saw in a movie I watched some time ago that if you give birth to a child above the regulated number, the child will have restricted access both in Education. Would love to know how true this is and if true how is it being handled. Does this still affect the number of people visiting the country, so I would know if I should stop dreaming about my visit.

Marriage

images 1.jpeg
Source

I know Christianity has taken its toll on many country and some cultures and believes are no longer practiced, but still in my country Nigeria, they still practice the traditional marriage which is paying of bride price or dowry, after which the official wedding takes place in the church or court wedding as one decides. Back to my curiosity😉, the animated Mulan was among the first cartoon I saw and it best describe my question even though its seen in other Chinese movies. Do they still practice the traditional Chinese marriage where the bride's face is powdered white, when I say white, I mean white like a plain white sheet with different make up applied on her face along side the traditional dress and the hair do. Is it still being practiced?

Defense

images.jpeg
Source

I no longer want to rely on what I am made to believe through the various interesting movies haha I have seen and those I'm yet to see. Most of the movies I have seen, its like more than 50â„… of the citizen knows how to defend themselves, either through kungfu, through sword or sticks which makes one want to learn how its being done, but tell me, is this just movie or its a reality.



Please don't mind my curiosity, I just want to gain the right information from the right source. Not just what I see anywhere.

Thanks for reading, awaiting some answers and don't forget to leave an upvote.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency