INDEPENDENCE: WILL IT GET BETTER?

photo-1605085046595-bcd87eadc886.jpeg
Source

"Happy Independence Day Nigeria". I am not one of the people who will say that today. Independence day is supposed to be a day of celebration, the day freedom was obtained but yet I can't help but think "what is there to celebrate?".

A lot of things have happened in the past few years and most of us as Nigerians have watched the country go from bad to worse and it keeps getting worse even when we think it couldn't get any worse, it's like "surprise! Y'all thought I was done right".

Sometimes I wonder what good is freedom if we are not truly free. Nigeria is being crippled daily due to bad governance, "it be your own people".

A friend recently asked, What is the Nigerian dream? '' My response: "to leave Nigeria". It wasn't always like that though, you may ask what happened to patriotism. Patriotism died a long time ago when we realized the government doesn't give a sh*t.

Patriotism died when I watched the government kill its own youths on October 20th, 2020 and for what? Because they asked not to be killed. Patriotism died when the government derived joy in breaking the spirit of the youths.

Funny how on independence day most of us - Nigerians can't pinpoint anything good this administration has done for the people. My heart bleeds when I think of my country and it's sad.

How I see it, the government wants to cripple every sector by any means necessary. Mostly we don't understand how far low the country has gone until it affects us personally.

Presently in the country doctors are on strike in government hospitals. My sister is suspected to have appendicitis, which will need surgery. However, we can't go to the hospital for a proper check-up. And the private hospitals that measure up are quite expensive.

This is the daily life of an average Nigerian. Steadily being deprived of something you should have if the system is working and we are expected to celebrate independence? What a joke.

I wish those in power will one day experience what we experience as average Nigerian and see how low they have driven the country. Maybe, just maybe they will realize that they have done more harm than good.

Things will get better we say, Yet it doesn't. Let's take matters into our hands, but Nigerians are scared to die for the country because if they do, the question will be "who asked you to". You may ask - have I given up on Nigeria. Maybe I have but what does it matter, it's a long road to it getting better that's If it will.

On the day when I can pinpoint significant things to celebrate about Nigeria then I'll be excited about independence day but for now I'll just enjoy the public holiday that comes with it and pray it gets better while I plan to leave. I can pray for Nigeria from a country that has a better system.

Thanks for stopping by ❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency