The Best (And Easiest) Garden Curry Ever

Adobe_Post_20211025_1803280.6904119870653809.png

I don't know if this is a gardening post, a plant based cooking post, a herbal post, or all three. Dilemmas, am I right? Ah, the life of a HIVER. But I haven't used the groovy #plantpower #vegan post for a while, so I thought I'd do a #meatlessmonday (also been a while).

20211025_162454.jpg

I love my garden at this time of the year, picking nibbles from the haphazard beds and nooks that make up my backyard. The swedes are done, but the beetroot's still growing and the leaves make awesome spanakopita. The coriander's loving the wetter soil and is going great guns in the greenhouse. The broccoli heads are forming, and once plucked, give off side shoots for weeks. The leaves I dry to make into a green powder for smoothies. There's snow peas too, and silverbeet. The garlic scapes are also ready to be picked and eaten. Has anyone ever made fermented scapes? Hm, worth a try?

20211025_162815.jpg

I love making a quick and easy coconut curry with what I have in the garden. I can't grow turmeric or ginger, sadly - though I'm trying - and though you don't need turmeric knobs (you can use it dried if you like) I'd say the fresh ginger and coriander is something you don't want to skimp on. Everything else is always to hand, for me - and what I really, really love about this recipe is that it's a one pot wonder with little fuss and mess.

20211025_162748.jpg

One simply throws all the sauce ingredients in a blender and voila - the base for the vegetable to cook. You'll need to simmer it for about fifteen minutes to half an hour, depending on taste and what other ingredients you put in it - carrot and potato would take longer of course.

Snowpeas and broccoli don't take long, and are just steamed on top. Ladled on top of brown rice, this dinner is a staple in our household and I promise you'll love it.

20211025_180215.jpg

Garden Coconut Curry (For Two Greedy Humans)

3 - 5 cm cube of fresh ginger
1 - 2 knobs of tumeric or a tablespoon of dried turmeric (or both)
1 tsp of cummin
1 large bunch of coriander, roots and all
1/2 lime (juice)
1 400 g tin of coconut milk
1 - 2 cloves of garlic or equivalent garlic in any form (I used a scape)
1 spring onion
1 large tomato or 1/2 can of tomatoes
optional 1/2 red capsicum, fresh chilli to your taste
A tsp of stock
1 tbsp vegan fish sauce (optional)

Place all the above ingredients in a blender and whiz until smooth.

Add the sauce to the pan with two cubed potatoes and a good handful or two of chopped tofu. Simmer until the potatoes are nearly cooked. If you are using carrots, you might want to put them in a bit earlier. Then, add your vegetables that don't take long to cook - broccoli and snow peas are good additions here, as are mushrooms. Once just tender (crisp vegetables are better than soggy) your curry is done.

Spoon onto brown rice and top with sprouts, fried onions, extra chilli, snow pea shoots - whatever tickles your fancy.

This is honestly the best asian style coconut curry ever and so good for you as well - the turmeric and ginger are great for the immune system and are anti-inflammatory, and garlic has a whole host of amazingness - let alone the coriander! Add good home grown vegetables and you have yourself an amazing nutritious meal.

What's your favourite garden curry?

With Love,

image.png

image.png
Plant Power Vegan Community


The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency