Potage of asparagus - plantbased

DSC_6941.jpg

If you see a pile of not so pretty asparagus for two dollars, do you pass it up and walk away? No of course not. The bargain bin in grocery stores is the first place I go. It's surprising all the things that are marked down. I live in a very student area. Most students I know here, would never buy such things. They are eating take out or simple microwave dinners.

When I saw the asparagus I knew it was not good for eating as is. It was going to be an asparagus potage, or creamy soup.

DSC_6764.jpg

The stalks were woody so I had to cut off quite a bit of the ends.

DSC_6768.jpg

I started with the basic onions and garlic.

DSC_6776.jpg

After browning the onions and garlic in olive oil and a little vegan butter, I added the asparagus leaving some of the tips aside.

DSC_6788.jpg

The other day I made potato skins scooping out potatoes. The part that I scooped out was saved so this was be added to the potage. Add vegetable broth after browning the asparagus and potatoes.

DSC_6789.jpg

Asparagus potage
2 bunches of asparagus
3 cups potatoes
1 chopped onion
4 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon onion powder
2 bay leaves
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon vegan butter
4 cups or more of vegetable broth
1/2 cup white wine (optional)
1 cup plantbased milk
Vegan cream (I used soy) optional
Salt and pepper
Paprika
Thyme fresh or dried

After cooking everything until tender, blend in a blender or use a hand blender like I did.

DSC_6841.jpg

At the very end, add the asparagus tips that were put aside. I didn't want a completely creamy soup so this added a little texture to it.

DSC_6844.jpg

I normally prefer spicy food but sometimes I take a break.

DSC_69r52.jpg

I accompanied with a salad from arugula, tomatoes, cabbage,carrots onion, radish, pomegranate seeds, sesame seeds and pumpkin seeds. The vinaigrette was a simple olive oil, and white balsamic vinegar with a dash of salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder,oregano and maple syrup.

DSC_6954.jpg

I garnished with green onions and paprika.

DSC_6948.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency