Book of the Week: The Diary of Wimpy Vampire

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-12 at 01.40.54.jpeg

I used to be a bookworm. I really like reading books and writing stories. But since working and living alone, I've lost my passion for reading. There are many other forms of entertainment that I can do in a big city: for example hanging out, watching movies, or traveling.

But I've been at my parents' house for two weeks. There's no TV here, and the power outlet in my room is far away (so I can't freely watch Netflix on my bed). So to get rid of the boredom, I started reading again.

This week I finally managed to finish two books "Diary of Wimpy Vampire". I bought these books about a decade ago. I feel like I've read it before, but I forgot how the story goes.

Because The Undead Have Feelings Too

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-12 at 01.40.55.jpeg

By the way, I was really annoyed to see the edge of my book folded like that. But there is nothing I can do about it.

This first book tells the story of Nigel (whom I only learned his name after reading over 100 pages), a vampire who is almost 100 years old. More precisely: 15 years of human age and 85 years of vampire age (because vampires don't age).

Rather than a cool vampire (as usually told in the movies), Nigel looks more like an old man trapped in a teenager's body. It seemed like living in the world for 100 years was boring and tiring. Especially if you become a vampire who does not have the power and charm of a vampire.

Until finally Nigel found his first love: Chloe. For the first time, Nigel felt that being a vampire wasn't bad. Especially after successfully dating Chloe, suddenly her vampire powers and charms appear.

Nigel the loser, turned into Nigel the cool guy.

I'm not a vampire, but somehow I can understand what he feels. I mean, sometimes life is boring. You want to do something cool, but on the other side, you just want to live your life peacefully.

Prince of Dorkness

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-12 at 01.40.55 (1).jpeg

I don't even remember buying this book.

So, Nigel has become a cool guy. Suddenly he became a popular boy who was loved by girls. He also has a beautiful girlfriend: Chloe. But the thing is, Chloe is going crazy.

Chloe is still trying hard to get Nigel to turn her into a vampire. But Nigel refused. So vampires are a lifelong commitment (and vampires don't die, right?). Nigel wasn't ready for that commitment yet, and Chloe didn't seem to understand that.

Come to think of it, eternal life is a sad and scary thing. I (at this time) still feel scared to death. But imagining everyone I know died, and only me alive because I'm an immortal, feels sad.

But on the other hand, if you're dating an immortal who won't age, it's also sad. I mean, when you're 65 and your boyfriend is still 15, you could be caught by the police.

Another problem: a werewolf transfers to Nigel's school.

Werewolves and vampires are lifetime enemies. They will kill each other if they meet each other. Especially if the werewolf comes and snatches your girlfriend. Like Jason who snatching Chloe from Nigel.

I took these photos using Oppo F1 Plus

These books are funny. I want to say that it's like a "wimpy kids" version of Twilight, but I never read Twilight. But it definitely has the same type as the Wimpy Kid series by Jeff Kinney.

I really enjoyed this book. And for next week, I think I want to read again my "Dexter" by Jeff Lindsay. But I also want to read Lupin. Hmm, let's see next week.

CONCLUSION

Title: Diary of Wimpy Vampire (book 1 and 2)
Author: Tim Collins
Year: 2011 (Indonesian version)
Rate: 8/10 (that was fun and easy to read)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency