Review Of Angels' Blood (Guild Hunters Series) By Nalini Singh

51q2omsqn9l._ac_sy780_.jpg
Source via goodreads

I love to read paranormal fiction fantasy and the title of this book caught my attention when I came across it for the first time. I realized it was not just the usual paranormal fiction but an urban fantasy set in an alternate universe. I'd never read any of Nalini Singh's books so this was a first for me.

The title of this book was the attraction - Angel's Blood. I have a serious liking for angels and angel theme books. Sometimes when I write fantasy/paranormal fiction, I enjoy writing about angels or include an angelic character in my story. Angel's Blood is the first book in the Guild Hunter series. From my findings, this series is still ongoing and after reading this book, I hope it goes on and on!

The first book in this gripping series introduces a reader to an alternate earth universe ruled by archangels called the Cadre Ten at the top of the hierarchy with vampires at the middle and humans at the bottom. The vampires are 'made' by the angels and subject to a hundred years contract of service to their 'maker' or sire.

The reader is introduced to the heroine, Elena Devereaux, a hunter-born with the special ability to sense and smell vampires and she made a career out of it as a guild hunter. She is one of the best hunters in America. She was invited over to the Angel's Tower to meet the archangel in charge of New York, Archangel Raphael where she was commissioned to hunt not a vampire gone rogue but an archangel turned serial killer. How could a fragile human vampire hunter hope to hunt down not just an archangel but one drunk on blood?

This urban fantasy is action-packed, fast-paced and thrilling from start to finish without leaving any room for the reader to catch his or her breath. Well, that was the way it felt for me. I finished this first book of 339 pages within two days despite my schedules at work and home.

The author, an outstanding writer in my opinion, effectively fused the urban fantasy world with the paranormal and romantic elements to birth a rich, captivating story that would charm readers. Her words were simple, easy to read and the setting well described.

The characters were well developed and their dialogues were smooth. Particularly entertaining is the drama and humorous banter between the characters. I believe the author nailed this part very well which gives me an inkling into her character as a humorous person.

I like that the main character is a strong, compelling and independent woman with a tortured past. She was written to be a 'Wonder Woman' kind of character, still she had a little weakness which had to do with her past. This made her more real and believable.

The archangels, angels and vampires were fierce characters with powers beyond what humans could imagine. The ending was fabulous and definitely makes a reader want to continue on with Elena and Raphael’s story. I'm heading into the second book in the series and hope to review it too when I am done.

Angel's Blood is a page turner and I recommend it for all paranormal fiction readers.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency