5 Questions 5 Answers About Books & Reading

IMG_8775.jpg

I have bumped into a number of posts answering 5 questions in the Hive Book Club community. Curious, I started looking for the original post and found it from @nicxi and you can find out more by clicking on THIS. The five questions are:-

1. What is the first book you remember reading as a child?
I honestly cannot remember the very first book. In my school-going years, I lived with my grandmother and aunties, and there was this “prized” collection of hardcover books in the showcase. I had to ask permission to read them and be very careful handling them. I remember each series had 10 books, of Bible stories, Shakespeare and classics like Black Beauty, Little Women and more. I'm sure that my first book was one of these.

I can remember the first adult book I read - Roots by Alex Haley. It belonged to my aunty, and once she was done with it, it was lying around and I read it. I was 10 years old and now wonder if I even understood what I was reading, though the TV series came out around the same time and it helped. I think I will read it again.

My first book with a “naughty scene” was The Dream Merchants by Harold Robbins. From what I remember, there was some kissing, the hero or heroine was in a towel and drops it. That’s really the extent of it, but I was in shock, dog eared it and kept coming back to read it, still shook. I was 12.

My favourite book back then, which I read 7 times was Wuthering Heights. I guess I wanted to save bad boy Heathcliff. I was around 12 or 13.

2. What is the best time to read?
Right now in my life, anytime is a good time. I do struggle with time management with 553 things on my to-do list. But if I had the luxury, I’d say late afternoon into evening, after the chores are done, sipping my coffee, in my balcony garden. But with audiobooks, when I'm doing my chores is the best as it makes my chores a breeze... almost.

3. In what format do you prefer to read: Digital, paper or both?
Till last year, I would have sworn the only way to enjoy a book is paper. You have to hold it, flip the pages, the whole shebang. Then, I kept seeing MarianneWest's posts about her audiobook and it tweaked my curiosity. I subscribed to Scribd and boom, I understood why. You can multitask while listening and it is easy on the eyes. And because Scribd also has ebooks, so now I do all 3 and will only buy a paperback if I absolutely can’t get my hands on the ebook or the audiobook. Books are not cheap.

4. What distracts you the most when you read?
Everything!! I have a busy mind and flit through several tasks at the same time. Not always great for productivity and I am working on it. Things that distract me, even if I am listening to an audiobook and have to pause are something in the book that I have to find out about online and boom I'm going down a rabbit hole, an idea for a post that I need to scribble down which then might lead me to research it a little, the kids who I need to make sure are on their online classes or doing their assignments, my dad who might need help with something, my friends who message or call, the weather when I have to run to bring in the laundry... yeah, just about everything and then I forget to get back to the book and start doing something else.

5. Favourite genre?
I do like thrillers, biographies, memoirs, crime, horror, self-help, spiritual, romance... Aiks - ok, just about anything. If it is good, and an audiobook that has a good narrator, I’m hooked. Actually, most times, even when I’m not hooked if I am halfway through I have a need to just finish it.

page divider orange.png

Thank you @nicxi for the questions. I had fun answering them😊

Thank you for reading,
Till next time, Carpe Diem!
Sh33la

Image Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency