[Book Review] Attachment: A Simple and Sweet Love Story

20201107_091325.jpg

Book Title: Attachments | Author: Rainbow Rowell | Indonesian Translator : Airien Kusumawardani | Publisher: Spring | Published Year: First Print, December 2015 | Book Thickness: 436 pp. | ISBN: 978-602-71505-5-3


How love is always simple and… sweet.

My First Impression
I found myself stuck on the cover of a simple Attachment, before overhearing some friends in the Book Club chattering wildly about the contents of this book. I often close my ears (and close my eyes) when they start discussing the contents of a book and usually I will just take the final gist of them. If it's good then I'll read it, if not then I'll ignore it. And this book is proof that their tastes can influence me.

I repeat, the novel Attachment has a simple cover. Very simple with soft colors and illustrations that make me want to hug the book for a long time. A few years after I bought this book, I just read it… a month ago. Two people, male and female, who appear to be facing their respective computers are the perfect illustration to describe the overall content of the story.

The Plot
They indeed work with computers. They indeed met because of the computer. But this is not online dating because the time in 1999 seems like online dating is still not popular (even if it exists), okay, this is just an assumption.

In the first chapter, we will feature Beth and Jennifer's conversation via their work e-mail application trying not to use forbidden words. Because, if so, then their e-mail will be netted to the office security and will be given a warning. However, Lincoln, an IT e-mail supervisor, finds Beth and Jennifer's e-mails netted and does nothing to them. Instead, he kept reading because… it was fun to read their stories, he thought.

Oh God, my mind immediately told me that Lincoln was a stalker. But yes, he can't be completely wrong because that's his job. Read e-mails of all office employees to give them a warning. But that's where the seeds of love and conflict emerge.

In the real world, having a crush on strangers who have never even met face to face might be something terrible. However, if in this story we have been told that Lincoln's character is a harmless protagonist, especially since Beth falls in love with him even though we haven't met him. Lincoln's attitude of constantly reading Beth's e-mail also can't be considered a crime because that's his job.

My Opinion of the Book
I love reading Rowell's witty narration in this book. Similar to Fangirl, her previous book, I enjoyed all the stories in the Attachment. But if I can compare, I can easily like Attachment more than Fangirl.

Story-wise, Attachment has a smoother and flowing plot. How Beth and Jennifer's life is told through an e-mail conversation and the complexities of Lincoln's life and the big secret of knowing that Beth likes him (which he knows from the email) is told in detail and simply. The characters are built consistently not through direct descriptions but through characters that are built from actions and conversations.

For example, I like the character of Lincoln's mother who loves her child by always cooking delicious food for Lincoln, and also doesn't want her child to leave the house to live alone. You know, in America, 18-year-olds have to leave their parents' house as a form of independence? Well, Lincoln's mother's concern was not immediately shown, Rowell made her the mother's side who didn't want to let go of her child, but had to give in because Lincoln had already bought an apartment.

Then, how the story of Beth and Lincoln begins with a meeting. This is the tightest part. The answer is in the chapters towards the end! Unfortunately, I was made angry with the way their love. It's so curious that I mumbled to myself: when did they meet oi. So long.

But that doesn't mean the story at the beginning is boring. The effects of waiting and curiosity made me want to finish this book quickly.

"Isn't falling down is something you have to experience to wake yourself up? Wouldn't falling down to the bottom of the pit give you a clue which way you should climb?" page 303.

I took the quote as I felt when I read the story of Lincoln who had to be heartbroken before expressing his feelings. As if withered before growing. However, as far as I finished this novel, Attachment as a whole is a simple and sweet love story. It's not just a matter of portraying the characters against the backdrop of the dilemma of life, but also in terms of plot, I will give a thumbs up for Rainbow Rowell.

My Recommendation & My Rating
I even thought that everyday life and love stories as simple as this could be very interesting stories because the packaging is so detailed. So, is this book recommended? The answer is definitely yes!

A sweet and adorable book for your charming weekend. Happy reading!

Rate: 4/5

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency