Shadows and experiences in my hood of South Africa.

a.jpg
I am a newbie to hive and this post serves as part of my #shadowhunters round 76 contribution and a bit more viewing of my beach hometown, Muizenberg, in the deep south peninsula of Cape Town, South Africa.

The above photo is of a happy, enjoying life, previously unknown new fur friend I made on an early sunrise beach walk in my village.

279708557_10226944684945196_650302718706172673_n.jpg

Another early sunrise walk on Muizenberg beach.

b.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg

The Cape Town Cycle cycle tour/race is a an annual event hosted in the City and in latest years entrants average 35 000 odd. It is a pro/am event over 110 odd kilometres (80 miles) that attracts international visitors and riders. A large part of the route passes through out beautiful coastal & mountainous regions with locals cheering and celebrating in forms along the route to encourage & boost the cyclists.
Above are cyclists passing through Muizenberg in the last race.
In the background is the Corner Surf Shop which is also South Africa's oldest surf shop (50+ years young). In my younger years they sponsored me for surfing during an ocean loving life that I have been blessed to live although the last year hit with an unexpected/ unexperienced health issue after always thinking I will always lead a non doctor visiting life....bang! said some force and sent me reeling in cartwheels on all levels of physical & mentality. Finally got myself grudgingly to a government hospital which shifted me (out of fear) to to an internationally acclaimed training hospital (Groote Schuur.....first heart transplant in the world, etc etc). Here a few top surgeons told me that I must be mad in my head for staying away for so long & that I should be long dead as the majority of all with slight experiences of the same.....guess it goes with my previous life attitude thankfully although the difference of life has hit hard.........okay, apologies, I have gone way off the subject although I guess one could call it shadows of life & it would be apt.(post for another day.)

Back to the above photo.....The owner of the surf shop, Peter Wright, is late 70 + and did his umpteenth tour/race this last year (legend). As usual the jovial onlookers outside the shop did their uproar as he came past while his wife, Tess, had done her usual setting up of big speakers belting out tunes like Beach Boys surfin safari which boosted all the riders & spectators all morning.
The eldish gent that fell in the wet conditions in the last photo was pretty much unhurt except for his ego and was helped back onto his bike & completed the race. :)

e.jpg

A couple of really friendly different African country tourists that came ambling past my beach afternoon towards sunset, demanded a photo, and we ended up having an amazing chat :)
[//]:# (!pinmapple -34.108791 lat 18.469013 long d3scr)
All the used photos were taken by myself,

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
50 Comments
Ecency