Living with the 4-seasons of Holland


img_20211129_134026841_hdr.jpg



Living with four seasons

Although it is nice to live in a country where you actually still see 4 seasons, it also has disadvantages. At least, I really don't like the autumn days with a lot of strong wind and rain. I used to be a real winter lover, but since winters also mainly bring rain, that has changed. I can't help it, but I just really don't like rain. And let that now be a phenomenon, which we see all too often in the Netherlands. The autumn and winter days with a lot of sun ... are very much too my liking. As you can see on the photo above ...

A good coat is therefore necessary if you have to go outside with three dogs every day. There is only much difference between a good jacket and a good jacket. There are so many types of jackets… and of course there is an extreme price difference in all those jackets. Now I think that a jacket can cost something, after all, it is the intention that you can last a few years with that jacket. And because I need it every day, it's not something I want to spend anything on.

Warm and dry

But there is of course a big difference between wanting and being able to. The jacket I bought four years ago was a cheap jacket at first, but it was good. The jacket did exactly what I want from a jacket, it gave me enough freedom of movement, it kept me very warm, kept out the wind and kept me dry, and the color was striking enough to be visible on gray days. Because the latter is also something you have to take into account when you go for a walk with your dogs. That you are visible! Winter coats are often dark and solid. Not the best choice to wear if you want to walk safely. Yes, of course I also absolutely love a solid deep black winter coat that fits nicely slim. But do I buy it? No, because I've learned through trial and error that I really better put on a bright-colored coat. At least then I'll be clearly visible in the dark weather on the dark gray days when the rain pours down mercilessly, and I still have to walk along the side of the road with the dogs. Preferably also reflective piping on my jacket ... But a jacket that also keeps me warm and dry.

The zipper was the problem

The coat I bought four years ago was, in my opinion, still perfect for walking the dogs. Nice and bright-colored and kept me warm and dry. Unfortunately, those things have a limited lifespan… and last week I suddenly noticed that I was getting cold while walking. As it turned out, my coat was no longer closed! The zipper had opened from below! I closed it again and 5 minutes later I had the same issue again. Hmm, not nice! That means spending money for something I actually didn't feel like doing at all… But yes, a good coat is necessary!

I bought a new jacket

So yesterday evening I searched online, and finally decided to buy a jacket that I think will do what I want to from a jacket again. It doesn't have to be gorgeous, as long as it keeps me warm and dry, gives me freedom of movement and makes sure I'm visible during dark gray days.



img_20211129_135724531_3_.jpg



Everyone will be happy again!

The dogs will thank me, my boyfriend thanked me for not opting for an expensive coat… and I will thank myself when I can walk the dogs warm and dry again. The very rainy forecast here gives me little hope that I can achieve that today, unfortunately.

And that also makes the Shadow hunt that I suddenly discovered yesterday a bit impossible for today. And so today I'm mainly inside the house! Looking at the pictures I took of the dogs yesterday, just give the dogs a quick walk, and I'm sure I'm looking forward to receiving my new wind- and water-resistant coat this week.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency