Wooden Splendor

I heard the gossips about the second wife (mistress) of a very rich man in the village, where I spent the summers in the house of my grandparents as a child.

The gossip was that he had built a big house for her - a palace. He built it with special wood, which was brought especially for her from Russia. (The woman herself is Russian.)

So, I was there to see this special palace built for such a special woman. But almost nothing could be seen from it because of the high and thick fences built around it. It was not possible to take pictures of what was visible, as the whole house is surrounded by security cameras and alarm systems.

Oh, don't be surprised. Probably in every village in Bulgaria there are such "palaces" - very expensive and large houses of very rich people. In contrast to the rest, mass poor, unmaintained, neglected and crumbling houses. There are also such houses in the village that I showed you recently - the one with the unplastered houses. But because the topic of the post was different then, I didn't show them to you.

But today the topic of the post is again not exactly the extravagance and luxury that the rich people in Bulgaria can reach in the construction of their houses. Or at least not exactly. This is a secondary topic.

The topic is wooden construction.

From the story I told you above it becomes clear and it goes without saying that the use of timber for the construction of wooden houses is considered a special luxury. Owning a wooden house is a special luxury.

I associate wooden construction only with wooden huts in the forest - temporary shelters for hunters or just temporary shelters. Not permanent housing that should be used for years, let alone 'palaces'.

I associate timber and timber construction also with fire and fires. Therefore - with something that is very temporary. And dangerous. But what do I understand by architecture? And yet - what I understand from wooden architecture - it is not typical for Bulgaria.

(And yet - in the summer I came across a very old traditional construction with lining the exterior walls of houses with wood. But this is something different and there will be a post about it later.)

So, very recently I came across this house - in a small town with absolutely contrasting architecture, which I also wrote about - Chirpan:

IMG_20210901_223559.jpg

The facade, the wall facing the street is so large and long that standing on the opposite sidewalk, it cannot be covered by the camera of my phone or my camera.

IMG_20210901_223658.jpg

So I was able to shoot only parts of it. But I hope these photos give an idea of ​​the dimensions, design and type of house.

IMG_20210901_223626.jpg

Because here, too, it is clear that this is a kind of palace, this time, however, taken out on the street and not hidden behind high fences.

Here, too, we are talking about extremely expensive construction and expensively invented design, the implementation of which requires a lot of money.

IMG_20210901_223739.jpg

And not only that - the person who invented, ordered and paid for it is clearly distinguished by his great attention to detail of the workmanship. And this workmanship is at an extremely high level.

IMG_20210901_223821.jpg


IMG_20210901_223926.jpg

This can also be seen with the naked, unarmed and unprofessional eye. My unprofessional eye.

IMG_20210901_223950.jpg

Because do you know how many houses there are, the construction of which shows a good idea in the beginning, but then there is an unprofessional execution and an attempt to save here and there. And there is nothing to save here.

Nothing has been saved, and this is the greatest evident of the verve with which this still unfinished site was built.

IMG_20210901_223843.jpg

Because - you see the scaffolding on the inside - the object is not finished.

IMG_20210901_223801.jpg


IMG_20210901_223901.jpg

So, the modern 'palace' in the Bulgarian version has not yet opened its doors to another Bulgarian 'princess'. πŸ˜€πŸ°


Copyright: @soulsdetour


Hive.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency