NORMAN ARCHITECTURE - THE GREAT HALL AND HORSESHOES OF OAKHAM CASTLE ~ UK 🇬🇧

Hi all 👋🏻

With my next post into the Architecture+Design Community I want to show you THE GREAT HALL OF OAKHAM CASTLE ~ UK 🇬🇧

It is located on Google maps see the yellow star ⭐️:

I visited this castle on 11 April 2022. Photographs are taken with my iPhone.

Let me tell you first a little bit more about this CASTLE, before I show you my walk in and around it. 😎 Is it even a Castle?

More information about the historic important data from this building was sourced: in this website!
and Their own website!

Oakham Castle you can visit by going to the village of Oakham, Rutland - in England 🇬🇧 and see what is left from a large Manor House. Now named a Castle.

This historic building is one good example of Norman architecture that has survived time pretty well. A very careful restoration was carried out in 2016. What makes us appreciate it even more when visiting it now, as before its state wasn’t that good… the caretaker told us.

When we talk about Norman architecture this is with other words Romanesque architecture of the 11th and 12th century.

The Castle is amongst visiting people (locals and tourists alike) mainly known for its horseshoes collection, this collection can be found inside where they are all exhibited on the walls in the Great Hall.
But in my post today I want to focus on the architecture more and see the building. How it was build and conserved throughout the years.

To give you a bit more history of the Castle/ Great Hall from the Manor House:
We know it was built between 1180 and 1190 by Walkelin de Ferrers, lord of the manor of Oakham, and a great nephew of Robert de Ferrers, 1st Earl of Derby.

If we look now a little bit closer at The Great Hall itself, we see that amongst the decorations of it, we find 12th-century sculptures. These sculptures were carved out of stone from a local quarry not that far away, as these resources were readily available and easy to get in those days. Nothing would have come from afar.

Since 1229 Oakham Castle was also the house that held the crown court. You will see this in my photographs as they conserved this part well included the 2 prison cells, with information about them.

Oakham Castle doesn’t look like any castle. When we think about what a castle should look like 🏰 it is rather small, it has no towers and the image we see is more of a normal elongated house to be honest.
It has been named a castle, because it is actually part of the once… larger Great Hall that again was part of a large Manor House on the estate. These entire grounds where protected by a large wall back in those days.

This original Manor House resembled a castle, but those characteristics did not survive time.
People say and think, due to archeological diggings in recent years on the property, that there were towers on the walls and a moat around it.

If you stand on the highest parts on the property grounds you can envision the towers and the moat. (This you can see later also in my photo from the maquette of the original situation of all structures.)

We walked from the parking area in the back towards this castle and you need to climb up some steps, and there you can see it before going down again and crossing the grass to the Castle entrance.

Let’s start our walk around it and see for ourselves.

I will follow the time stamps of my photos so you can walk it with me and discover the Norman architecture and all details in and outside this Castle I will show you today 😎


This sign was placed at the parking lot, you don’t see the castle and it’s grounds from here. You need to go up some steps to the highest point of the grounds and than down to enter. Of course there is a gate coming of the market on the side. We will walk out there later.

On top of the walls we have this view, we see the grounds around Oakham Castle.

As you already can see it is not large and it sure doesn’t look like a castle 🏰

Coming down the hill we look towards the left side. You can see the entrance gate if you look closely in the direction of the white van.

Looking towards the right we see the border of the grounds and the towns Church behind it.

It is the All Saints Church from Oakham. That part is lower than the castle grounds too.

When walking over the grass along the border, we find here and there signs spread around that are giving us information about what was going on in the grounds many moons ago.

Another sign, it does make a visit pleasant to know you can read up about it, if you do not know the history before you arrive.

Another view from this corner.

We slowly approach the Castle and I take a few photographs from this side. You can already envision the structure inside as you see the 3 parts of the hall.

A last sign 🪧 tells us about the horseshoes.
It tells us that every “high placed” person coming through the town, was to give a horseshoe. They were nailed at first on the gate, and later brought inside. The oldest horseshoe dating to 1461-1483 from Edward IV.
You will see them later in my photographs from the inside, in all shapes/ decorations and sizes. Rather fascinating to see.

A maquette placed outside, shows you how it used to be. They even depicted the moat and towers around the castle walls. You see also that the grounds are higher up than the surroundings. The fields and vineyards laying lower and outside of the castle grounds. Or better say the Manor House. The church to the left.

Now we are close to the gate, the van left.

Let’s walk closer to the castle so we can admire the Norman architecture and all the details.

Sculptures are to be found in the outside walls.

The windows in the well known arches. Remarkable conserved, but also restored.

As we enter we see this: THE GREAT HALL.

And every where the horseshoes.

The high seat of the court.

Let’s look at the roof construction.

Fascinating to see.

I turn and look at the entrance. You see they shielded it off, so the insides are better protected in any weather conditions.

Looking at the columns and the arcaded aisles.

They even thought about access for the less mobile under us.

One of the back walls.

Let’s look at some intricate details:

Do you see the Lion and rams head? A sculpture that was placed on the outside wall.

Look at the details, the animals and other heads around. Don’t miss the 2 heads in the top! Peaking around the corner.

A sign from the recent restoration.

Let’s look at the windows.

The other wall opposite the one from before. Here you see the court seats again.

Another window on the side.

You know what… I do love history and architecture. But somehow I’m just overwhelmed inside of this building. You have the architecture and details of the Great Hall… and I would like to see this. Focus on it.
But than…
you have all these horseshoes… everywhere.
I think my senses are in overload. It receives too much information inside here, for me to focus only on the architecture.
Ok, I could have left the horseshoes out for you now and don’t tell, but this is a real visit with me and you will see it as I perceived it, you never see the building from the inside if I left the photos out, that include the horseshoes... hehehe 🤭 I want that you experience what I experienced.
And of course don’t forget to add the court and prisons to it and a few other visitors.

Ok ok, I try to focus again. 🤓😊
Let’s show you the information pamphlet I received by entering.

Let’s focus for a moment on this window with the view outside…

I walk in the back and have a look inside the prison cells, as this is still a court too.

Information about it:

The doors of the cells. Both next to each other.

Walking back we see the Great hall again.

Another wheelchair access from the other side.

A picture of how the Great Hall must have looked back in the days. Wonderful, I prefer that image.

You can read more about it too. I must say the information provided is superb! Cudo’s to the organisation that runs it.

I start to focus on the structure again. The columns with their intricate details. A figure missing it’s head. Do you see it?

The roof construction… can you see the smallest horseshoe in here? Look carefully… don’t miss it 🤓😉😎

Column and more details.

Window decoration…

Close up

To think this is so old. Wonderful.

Talking about old. The large darker brown coloured horseshoe in this photograph is the oldest one they have. From Edward IV, 1461-1483.

Let’s exit the building and have a look on the outsides: we see here the back.

And the side again with entrance.

Stunning structure, and so “peaceful” on the outside.

As we leave the grounds we pass the gate.

Looking back into the grounds.

And a little bit further.

Here I want our visit to end. I hope you enjoyed the views and information. What did you think about the insides? Was it just me that thought it was too busy?
I thought certain things did distract from the amazing structure of the building, and all the intricate details found on the walls, windows, arches, and columns or didn’t it?
Let’s talk about it 😁

And that’s all for todays #Architecture and #design post. Until the next one! 👋🏻😎
Hope you enjoyed my photos of this Castle.
Thank you for looking and reading 😊 🙏🏻 Stay tuned for more… 😉

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

Have a great day all 😎
Grtz Jackie

silver_divider_black.png

The divider is Created by SilverFish / @ mondoshawan

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble 😉 So please don’t use them without my consent.

🖼 My PRINTSHOP: for the purchase of all kind of prints in many sizes from my Artworks 🎨 and Photography 📸 Which come on different objects too. Have a look in My Prints Shop!

!pinmapple 52.671381 lat -0.727411 long NORMAN ARCHITECTURE - THE GREAT HALL AND HORSESHOES OF OAKHAM CASTLE ~ UK 🇬🇧 d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
187 Comments
Ecency