Upuan na Bayog/Kawayan - A Traditional Chair of Ilokanos (Bahay Kubo Living - Scaled Model)

PhotoCollage_1630243137069.jpg

Greetings!

There are memories that we like the most and cherish all the time and there are things that we like regardless of their form.

When it comes to memories I always remember my childhood daytime naps in a Bahay Kubo. And some of the things that I like the most are bamboo furniture inside a Bahay Kubo. Of course, Bahay Kubo is one of the things/structures that I like the most.

Prologue

Last month, before we went home to my hometown in the countryside to live for good I envisioned building a scaled model of Bahay Kubo made of Kawayan (bamboo) and Bayog (Bayog Bamboo).

At first, I thought I can build the whole Bahay Kubo in just a day but I was wrong because I never thought that I would be busy doing house chores, managing a rice farm, doing some vegetable gardening, and managing a small family business all day long.

And when I was finally able to start an idea popped up in my mind, why not also build the furniture that can be commonly seen inside a Bahay Kubo.

And I started by building a scaled model of a bamboo chair and then I realized that getting the whole idea done will take a few days because of the many chores that I am doing every day.

Building the Scaled Bamboo Chair

Before I went on building the bamboo chair I figured out that I must decide on the size of the chair. Taking into account the instruments and materials available I arrived at the smallest size possible that I can build, about 3 inches in height and a sitting platform of about .75 inch x 1 inch.

I first build the chair's 4 main posts.

The four main posts of the bamboo chair
20210825_152457.jpg

Next are the parts that will make up the sitting platform and the back support of the chair (to be used also in combining the four main posts of the chair).

These are going to be used to build the sitting platform and backrest of the chair and also to combined the four main posts of the chair
20210825_153746.jpg

And those are the parts that I needed to build the scaled model of a bamboo chair.

Putting the Pieces Together

Since I am building a scaled model with no perfect sizing or dimension I decided to use a glue gun instead of instant glue like a mighty bond.

I first glued the four main posts of the bamboo chair.

Here's what it is looked like after I glued the four main posts of the bamboo chair. They now looked like a chair.
20210825_155613.jpg

Combining the Four Main Post

Then I combined the four main posts and below is how it looked like after I glued them.

After I glued the four main posts I then glued the sitting platform and the backrest of the chair.

Finished Product

And here how it looked like after I finished gluing them all.

For comparison below is the actual photo of the only bamboo chair in our house

20210825_144842.jpg

20210825_144858.jpg

By the way, below is the bamboo that I am going to use in building the scaled models. I think this is enough to build the chair, bed, skeleton of Bahay Kubo itself. I haven't decided yet on what I am going to use on the walls and the roof of the Bahay Kubo.

20210825_145201.jpg



I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency