6 Months after my first post

Just about six moths ago I made my first post excited to be on this space unknowing to me that I will only be able to make my next post six months after. I urge everybody to take care of themselves mentally just as they do physically. The society at least where I’m from see seeking mental help as weakness especially in men, you’re expected to suck it up, to man up, to bottle it down and show no emotion or process one’s feelings the right way. This leads to all sort of issues later on that may even cause eventual death.
After the loss of a very close relative, I had to man up and hold it down as the society depicts, I didn’t grieve cause that will make me weak instead I moved on as if nothing had happened. I broke down and started drinking more, isolating myself from friends and loved ones, having feeling of emptiness and hopelessness, nothing matters to me again, things I derive joy from becomes irritating. With the help of my family that didn’t give up, I know I have to curl out and get help if I want to be healthy. I didn’t care about what the society will think of me I just know I needed to get better and the only way is to seek a professional help, it was not an easy journey nor was it a cheap one “lol” but it had to be done, I had to get help.
I wish the society can abolish the idea of tagging men weak or downplaying depression and any other mental issues especially here in Africa. I want to persuade more non-profitable organizations to set up facilities to provide help to men and women and synthesize the society about the stigma on people with mental issues, we have to abolish the idea of downplaying mental struggles and I believe it starts from our individual self. As you read this, learn more about mental struggles today and maybe you might save a soul.
Know that you're not alone out there if you are going through difficult things or aspect of your life, don't try to do it alone, reach out to family, friends or professionals for help. We are all with you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency