Frogs of War - a possible change

I've been spending time thinking of ways to improve the player experience in Frogs of War, and my most recent post - @wwwiebe/frogs-of-war-a-card-sample-update - revolved around redesigning the playing cards to improve usability.

One of the biggest obstacles I have been facing is that the playing cards double as the playing pieces on the board (or, in the case of animals, the ecosystem). Using cards as playing pieces is difficult. I had 3d printed some chits to stand the cards up in, but they were small and a little more difficult to use than I had envisioned, so I got to thinking about ways to improve that.

Then it hit me.

3D printed animals.

A 3d printed frog for the frogs.
A 3d printed dog for the dogs.

At least for the prototype; when I go into production this will be a custom made piece, but for now my 3d printer will work.

I'm starting with a simple frog. After printing I took a dremel slicer to it and sliced a slot in the back to hold the card. This ended up wider than I was hoping, but as a prototype for a prototype I wasn't too concerned.

20210902_203924.jpg

20210902_203931.jpg

Putting a card in it looks like this. Currently I still have the hex shaped cards - I haven't printed any of the new rectangle cards yet - but this gives a good idea of how it'll look and work.

A single frog.

20210902_204029.jpg

A frog with an added weapon.

20210902_204041.jpg

I think I have a good size for the frog, too; it needs to be big enough to be easily handled, but not so big that it takes up more space on the ecosystem than it should.

20210902_204129.jpg

I'm hoping that I can make these transparent cards work; I'm beginning to be a little concerned that my vision and reality are going to be mutually exclusive, so I'm already beginning to make alternate plans and designs.

I soon am going to need to update Tabletop Simulator, too. As always, I'd be thrilled if anyone has TS and would be willing to help me flesh out the game with a play test!


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Amateur photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. Nerd. 
General all around problem-solver and creative type.

My Favourite Tags

#spaceforce3#altphoto#crappycameraphotos
#digitalpinhole#pinhole#firehydrant

IUR5Qh1mwwwiebe.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency