That Time I Took All the Paul's Boutique Original Sample Source Material and Performed a Set With it

The Midwest of the US is kinda world reknown for its experimental electronic scene and in Cleveland we have (or had-you know, before the apocalypse) this cool monthly series, called the "noise lunch" at a local 'punk' bar, now that's class.

Each month has a different theme and curator and people are invited to perform or offer to come up with a set for that particular theme. The event takes place on a sunday afternoon, maybe 4to 8pm, so its easy to come out and not be worried about being out all night.

So anyway, I have performed at these on numerous occasions over the years and i am going to talk to you about a set I did from June of 2015. The theme was "mysterium sampledelica," which i believe was witchbeam 's(the host) exotic way of saying a sampler/samples/sampling is the theme.

I immediately wanted to challenge the crap out of myself and do a rendition of the legendary PAUL'S BOUTIQUE album by the beastie boys-known for the fact that almost all of the music was created from pieces of existing works (samples). The album came out in 1989 and wasnt that successful, although it would become critically acclaimed later on.

I didn't really sample the album itself, but many of the original songs that were used to create it. I would describe it as a mix of hip hop, scratching, messed up samples and comedy. While i did "rap" a little, i need to emphasize that i am not a rapper, and have never been(i'm the DJ,he's the rapper) and it was more about entertaining the crowd for fun than being serious. I think the crowd liked it, it turned out OK-good enough in my opinion, although it probably won't make the library of congress any time soon.

I always like trying totally different things and putting out weird releases, this one actually does exist, in limited quantities, in cd form.

for this set, the equipment i used was sp808 sampler/denon cd turntable/technics 1200/vestax pmc 05mk3/microphone

here is the link:
https://archive.org/details/DrQuinnMedicineWomanPaulsBoutique

I hope you liked my post!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency