Impact of social networks on Mental Health

Hello dear community, today, now, I want to -I could say- unburden myself, and it is that writing helps to drain. I want to start by remembering the following, when I came to live in this country where I currently reside, Colombia, I remember that I used to go on Facebook a lot, something I have never done often, but since it is one of the most used social networks, it is the ideal way through specific groups, to get some kind of job, or at least something that would tell you where to start.

Until this part of the story everything is fine, but it turns out that xenophobia is not only present in person, with gestures, words or phrases, but in every group where the human being is there will be someone who wants to take advantage of the situation to take advantage or in this case, to show signs of dehumanization. I make reference to this because in these groups there were always those who, natives of Colombia or even from other countries, used the pseudo anonymity to let their ideas that go hand in hand with feeling superior to us, Venezuelans, be satiated.


image.png

Source

In view of this reality, I preferred to stay away from any social network that most people use (facebook, instagram), for mental health. Because it's not nice that, even when it's not towards you directly, to read offenses against "Venezuelans ". So I focused on the good things I could do and luckily I have been able to achieve good things, I have met many nice people and without a doubt others that are not, but that's what it's all about, or isn't it.

*To be able to contemplate everything in fullness to have a more global vision of things.

But, since a couple of weeks ago it became news the rape of a Venezuelan woman in Argentina by a young entrepreneur who drugged her in a job interview and then raped her, discovered in flagrante delicto and in spite of that released. Last week, specifically in Peru, there was the murder of a Venezuelan by Peruvian criminal groups, who charge people to let them work, this Venezuelan was simply killed in cold blood, everything was recorded in a security video.


image.png

Fuente

As if this were not enough, recently a couple of Venezuelans, in retaliation, threw a Peruvian from a bridge, losing his life, and this has brought consternation throughout the country, although I could say throughout the continent. I have not looked for this news, but he sends me videos about it. I really prefer to stay out of all these things, because my mental health is affected.

I live in a country that is not mine, and here too there is a generalized view of all Venezuelans, just as in other countries there is a generalization of Colombians, now, when you realize what happens in other countries in a certain way you fear for the viralization that happens of these violent events, and -even if you don't want to- you think that something like that could happen right where you are....

I just hope that these are just isolated events that I don't exactly have to live them closely, and that this same phenomenon of viralization becomes tangible but with good actions, because unfortunately we live in a society that is shocked by acts of aggression, but really seems to enjoy them...

I say goodbye, hoping you are all well.

image.png
image.png

I authorize the use of this banner to everyone who wants to do it.

image.png
josevasGIFT FINAL.gifimage.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency