Let's Make a Collage (Round 80) : Here Comes The NIGHT

This is my submission for Let’s Make a Collage round 80. The contest was held by @shaka here : @shaka/lets-make-a-collage-a-contest-for-all-creatives-on-hive-round-80-169-hive-in-the-prize-pool-new-extended-price-ranks.

shakaround80result2.jpg

This round @shaka needs participants to start with this picture:
shakaround80a.jpeg

When I saw this picture, I imagine a horror story. I like horror movies. This is the hotel or an apartment where a mad killer is killing everyone. “Okay! I am going to make it as a cover for a horror graphic novel cover.”

The Steps I took:

capture02a.jpg
I opened the given picture in Photoshop and erased the background.

capture04a.jpg
I needed a higher canvas so I adjusted it. I guessed that will do.

capture05a.jpg
I changed the background to black.

I needed to work with the given image. I wanted to make it cartoon-like, since I meant to make a graphic novel cover out of it.

capture06.jpg
Needed some adjustment for sure!

capture07b.jpg
Before and after. So far so good.

I needed a horror effect. A silhouette of a murderer. Been seeing many movie posters like that. So I go to https://pixabay.com and searched for horror pictures and I found this picture:


The link for the picture is : https://pixabay.com/id/photos/pembunuh-kengerian-jimmy-jemmy-820017/. This is a free image with no attribution needed.

I will use the silhouette of the man so I needed to erase the background.

capture09.jpg
Background eliminated!

Okay. background has been eliminated. Time to get rid of the shining light by darkening the picture.

capture10a.jpg
Darkened the picture by adjusting it's level.

Time to put it to the graphical novel poster.

capture11a.jpg
Put it to the back of the picture and changed the picture background. It is now a graphical novel cover.

But it still felt "raw". It needed title. Title always is part of the game.

capture12a.jpg

That'll do.

shakaround80result2.jpg

2bp4pjr4wvimqcwjyimxje2cncgnjavpbbur7n2djf7.gif
The gif was "stolen" from @brittandjosie’s blog post @brittandjosie/read-what-hive-is-and-what-hive-is-all-about-if-you-want-to-be-a-true-hiver, used with permission from @brittandjosie.

janwar00_logo.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency