Come Follow Me!


photo_2021-10-01_19-02-35.jpg


I live down a dusty track, at the end of that track is an old village, that was abandoned many years ago, but recently has started to come back to life. There are a few houses in a row, that needed some work and which you can only get to by foot. Then down an even smaller track, you arrive at the river.


photo_2021-10-01_19-02-02.jpg

Above is one of the old village houses, which has been renovated and has a lovely family living there. The white washed walls, is very typical for this part of Spain, along with the grapevine providing food and shade. I love this walk down to the river.


photo_2021-10-01_19-02-30.jpg

As you walk down, the track which is framed by fig and pomegranate trees, becomes smaller. It's like walking into a fairy tale. I can so easily imagine fairies and pixies living amongst their branches.

photo_2021-10-01_19-02-58.jpg

The pomegrantes are dripping like jewels from the trees and me and my youngest daughter, take some to snack on by the river. I love this time of year, when there is an abundance of fruits and nuts growing in the wild.

photo_2021-10-01_19-02-21.jpg

Every now and again, you get a glimpse into someone's home, which each person/family making their own little paradise down here, out of local materials sourced mostly onsite.If you wish to be inspired then this is the walk for you!


photo_2021-10-01_19-02-45.jpg

As you get nearer to the river, the path starts to widen out and you begin to see some Eucalyptus trees. At this point both my youngest daughter and Freya, our canine companion, take off. When you get to this point you can hear it flowing in the distance and that is all they need to race off ahead of me.


photo_2021-10-01_19-02-54.jpg

When I get down to the water, Freya is already inside, happy to finally be able to immerse herself and cool down. My youngest knows that she can not go in the water without me, but she has stripped off ready to take the plunge.


photo_2021-10-01_19-02-51.jpg

I am not far behind her, very happy to let the sun kiss my skin, before I cleanse myself in the rivers waters. The water is still quite low, as we are still awaiting the first rains. But even so, the water is so refreshing and I delight in the sights and the sounds that surround me.


photo_2021-10-01_19-01-50.jpg

Today I walked to the river, as one of my other daughters was getting sewing lessons from an amazing seamstress that lives down this way. We dropped her off and headed to the river. On the way back to pick her up, we pass the acequia, which always seems to flow down here and helps keep the place green and lush, even in the summer.


photo_2021-10-01_19-01-38.jpg

This is the outdoor kitchen of my friend who is teaching my daughter to sew. Another example of what can be made from locally sourced materials. I have enjoyed numerous evenings of entertainment down here, singing and playing music.


photo_2021-10-01_19-01-27.jpg

On the walk back to where I live, there are numerous hand built abodes, along the track. As well as other folk living in vehicles and yurts. Each with their only little slice of heaven! This walk remains me of how lucky I have been to live here and also how much I am going to miss it!


photo_2021-10-01_19-27-16.jpg

But for now, I continue to enjoy it. My daughter who had her first sewing class, is proudly showing me the bag she has made, whilst my youngest runs ahead, covered head to toe in dust, singing at the top of her voice. I could not be happier.

image.png

image.png


image.png



image.png


DESERT ADVENTURE.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency