Smeggin' Father's Day

Back in the Day I read a very cool book called Red Dwarf, with bits of it sticking with me throughout my life and to this day, I still haven't had Gazpacho soup - only those who have read the book might get the reference.

Today in Finland is Father's Day and I did even get to sleep in for an extra hour with minimal interruptions from Smallsteps keeping me updated on what they were making for breakfast. She is also getting better at keeping the presents a secret, with this year her only telling me that there were presents "but they are secrets" - rather than last ear she taking me to where they were and excitedly pointing with one hand and her finger over he lips with the other saying "shhhhhh!"

Her writing is getting pretty good too.

IMG_20201108_095853.jpg

There was a theme to the morning and we had a healthy little breakfast together and it was kind of cool, because Smallsteps was able to eat nearly everything at the table. We have come a long way in the last four years and looking back it went fast - but living it was painfully slow.

After fruit and yogurt and of course coffee, I got the first present - which is in honor of the time we spend together in cafes having Daddy-Daughter coffee dates. It is a lot of fun now and I ma sure is very cute for people to see, but I am guessing that their expressions will change when we are still doing it when she is 16 years of age and doesn't exactly look like my expected daughter.

"Don't assume my genetics!"

I love this picture of her.

IMG_20201108_103642.jpg

As said, there was a theme to the day and the other thing that stuck with me from Red Dwarf was the word SMEG, which is used to replace the F-word. I don't mind using the F-word at all, but since this is a Father's Day post, I figure I should keep it cleanish. I don't know why Smallsteps has never sworn though...

So, coffee was the theme and I received a SMEGgin' coffee maker, which is the twin of the tea kettle my wife got for Mother's Day. I can't say it was a massive surprise, especially considering the drop-lock on our old one broke and we were in the market anyway.

IMG_20201108_124936.jpg

These are pretty cool looking machines and one day I would like to get a classic SMEG fridge, but I don't know where I would put it since I have been denied a mancave in the house and the garage is currently cold.

Our house is built in the early 60s and while we are renovating to update a lot of it, we are also looking for ways to keep some of the original details, like parts of the original floors and walls, as well as repurpose some of what we have removed, like the old windows that are residing in our garage until they are used to build a glasshouse, hopefully next summer.

Our kitchen itself isn't going to be renovated yet as we haven't the money, but it isn't original either so it will be no issue to get rid of it when we have the chance. We may even be able to sell it for something, since it is a made by a well-known Finnish brand. The style just isn't inline with well, anything. I am not sure what they were thinking when the previous owners built it, but it is far from functional in design and less so in style, but it does work so there is no urgent rush to change it. Given the funds though...

So, not a bad Father's Day so far and I have already mowed the lawn (for hopefully the last time before the snows come) and will soon move upstairs to continue the painting from where I left off at around 2am last night. We are trying to get things done as fast as possible now, as we are running out of time to get things organized, but I have quite heavy work schedules at the moment. It looks like some long nights ahead, but that is part of the fun of renovating a house - isn't it?

Happy Smeggin' Father's Day to all those celebrating today!

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency