Out into the real world

So I bought myself this beauty:

playfulfoodie e-bike

It makes me very happy.

I have been having a good time, out there in the real world! Cycling, walking, getting new glasses. My pc has been off more and I'm okay with that. I should make that more of a habit.

Alright, backing up. Last week on a saturday, we headed out towards the city. Early, so we could avoid people. We were going to drive my alternative route to work (so I have seen it before having to drive it myself), but stopped by the cycling store first. Asked for help, information, made a test drive, asked when the e-bike could be ready. "In an hour" he said! Most bikes have quite a long delivery time, but I was in luck!

So, we did the driving of my new route to work (easy route, yay!), headed into a random shop while waiting for the hour to pass and then we picked up my new bike! Yes, very expensive, but yes, very much worth it.

I cycled it home, but I'm stupid and always cycle the fastest I can. I had lots of wind in my face and I am stupid, I know how that affects me, but faster I went anyway! So once I got home, my ears were cold and hurt a lot and I was afraid I'd get a headache. But wait! I decided to be smart! Went to lie down for a bit, remembering what my physiotherapist from 15 years ago taught me. Managed to 'normalize' that way and avoided the headache.

Monday before dinner, we went to pick up my new glasses and I tried them right away. My head did not enjoy that. Hubby said I should wait until the morning, so I did. It took me most of tuesday to adjust to the new glasses, but it was okay after that. Things in the distance are now less blurry!

One of those days, I also cycled towards the water, but it was very windy that evening. Not a good time to be on the waterside with sensitive ears! Managed to avoid a headache again by lying down afterwards.

Am I getting more sensible?

Okay, so my new e-bike has five settings in support: Off, eco, tour, sport and turbo. Obviously, the higher you go, the less of a radius it has, but the easier it becomes. Mostly, I stick to eco. Tour and sport are awesome when having to get up a hill though and I use tour when in the city, having to wait at traffic lights and such. It's a quick way to get going. On eco, I have quite a big radius for support before the battery runs out.It's somewhere around 100 km. It's a good enough support to help me cycle longer distances and help me battle against the wind a little. Living in a very open area though, if the wind gets too much, I'm happy I can set the support a little higher. I'm glad I still have to work for it, but don't get too winded and can still make good time.

playfulfoodie e-bike

Yesterday, I had to go back to the city to adjust my glasses and now, I can cycle there! Gosh I missed cycling. So I cycled over, got the adjustment, got the soft serve ice cream I had been craving for a couple of weeks now, and cycled back. Wanted to do a detour, but it was a small path and there were big machines there, cutting down tree branches, so I didn't think I could go that way. Besides, a farmer was being very smelly, so I quickly cycled back home instead.

Hubby has a racing bike and although he hasn't been using it much this year, he's pretty fast on it. I couldn't hope to keep up with a regular cycle, but now with my e-bike, we're kinda able to cycle together! So that's what we did this morning. It's still an easy tour for him and a bit harder for me (I refuse to use the highest supports), but it's a lot more equal now.

I'm so happy I got this bike a month before work starts and during a time the weather is still okay. I'm going to enjoy it a lot this next month and will try to stick with it after work starts aswell. The office is too far to cycle, even for an e-bike (it would take me 2 hours to get there), but hey, maybe some day next summer.

Oh, and my ears? I did get more sensible! I now wear a headband when cycling. So simple.


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency