Lurking around some of my favourite Discord channels and some do's and dont's




Recently, I've been lurking hanging around on Discord a lot more.I'm subscribed to 33 channels, that's probably a lot less than many people, but active in only a handful. Before Steem/Hive I didn't even know about Discord, but now, I seem to spend a lot more time on it, sometimes even more than Hive.

Discord is great for two things. First, as a curator for OCD, sometimes I check in the different post promotion channels to see if on the off chance I come across any gems. It's my last resort when I've exhausted all avenues on the chain. Sadly, I'm not that lucky most of the time.

Secondly, and more importantly, Discord is the best place to meet people, particularly those that I might not cross path with on Hive. People tend to search for posts that they're interested in, photography, travel, art, crypto, gardening, music etc and build up their network that way. That's how I've built up most of my network with like minded people. The problem is I tend to stay around with the same group of people and don't get to explore new genres. Chatting with random people on Discord leads me to new accounts that I wouldn't have otherwise thought of checking out on Hive.
livinguktaiwan divider.png
During these few years, I have some observations about Discord engagements, and do's and don'ts. If you're new on Hive and are looking to grow your network via Discord, this may help you

  • engage, engage and engage

  • join in chats, and make an effort to interact. Pleasantries are good but don't stop there

  • don't drop in the channel every day just to say hello and nothing else. People will get to know your name, but probably not in the way you want

  • if no one is around and you want to start a dialogue, try talking to yourself, ask open questions, or make random comments for fun. Someone might respond

  • don't be upset if no one responds to you. We all have a life and live in different time zones, we can't be around all the time

  • if you strike up a rapport with someone, extend the relationship to Hive. Follow them, support and engage on their posts. It helps Hive to grow if there are more activities on the chain

  • don't ask for upvotes and follows

  • don't drop your post link unless it says you're allowed to promote your post

  • don't drop your post link and never engage in the channel

  • if you have a question, ask it. Don't ask "Can I ask a question?" You just have

  • and most important of all, have fun. Everyone I've come across is super friendly and helpful, just don't be a jerk and I guarantee you will make friends on Discord
    livinguktaiwan divider.png

Out of the 33 channels, here are some of my favourite ones that I spend the most time on. I've added the invite link if you want to join

Haveyoubeenhere and Pinmapple

https://discord.gg/EGtBvSM

@Pinmapple (or Steemitworldmap in the old world) never created a community in the past, we just focused on offering a service (the Map) to users. Anyway, Discord was started in recent months after @martibis launched the Haveyoubeenhere mobile app and wanted somewhere for users to provide feedback. Naturally, we piggybacked Pinmapple on it as there are synergies between the two projects. Also, we need to have a Discord channel dedicated for Hive travel content creators.

OCD

https://discordapp.com/invite/YGVAvvm

I'm a curator for @OCD and check in the curation channels for the admin stuff every day. The public community channels are busy nearly most of the times when I'm on. There are a few regulars who seem to be on 24 x 7 and strike up lively conversations. Then there are others who do their daily hellos every day (see above). If you're here because you like to be here, and not because you think it will get you on OCD's radar, then it's a great place to hang out. Also, if you like Gods Unchained, there's a channel dedicated to that. I don't know what goes on there as I don't play the game.

Hivewatchers

https://discord.gg/ANDEQTC

One thing that I can't stand is abuse on Hive. As a curator for Pinmapple and OCD I check all posts from accounts that I'm unfamiliar with. Being on the channel means I get to find out about the abuser earlier and avoid curating them. The channel must be one of the busiest I'm on, and everyday there are new people who come to appeal their cases. Some of the most popular excuses are "I'm new", "I didn't know", "I forgot to quote the source", "I didn't do it" (even when caught red handed), "I promise I won't do it again". Honestly?

@Hivewatchers has been getting a bit of stick recently, but without them, what would Hive be like? Just look across the fence, and you'll know how bad abuse can get. I know they're doing their best and to be honest, I wouldn't want to be in their shoes, it doesn't seem like a dream job to me.

Hive

https://discord.gg/ZS8MWan

I've only just started hanging around here more often these few weeks. It's a great place to keep myself up to date with what's happening on Hive and to understand more about the ecology. They have a few really interesting room, my favourite is one called reeeeeeeee. It's a random room and people just go there to reeeeeeeeee. It's reeeeeeeeally bonkers but it's greeeeeeeeeat fun! Just like that 🤣

Another room is Hive Assets. This where cool people make cool stuff and share with other cool people. @psos have been doing some awesome cans of drinks with Hive dapps logo on it. I asked if he could do one for Pinmapple and he came up with these two. Aren't they superpops awesome cool??!!


Brits

https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

This is a Brits channel for anyway who's related to Britain. If you're from or based in the UK do hop on and join us. It's not as busy as I'd like it to be, but everyone's making an effort.
livinguktaiwan divider.png

Since I've written those post, I've pruned the channels down to 23. Many are there because they have a post promotion room which I will drop in every now and then. I'm looking for a few more rooms to hang around, preferably somewhere that is quite busy with a bunch of fun people, not crypto or game related as I simply can't keep up (trust me I've tried), but I am open to any other genres. If you have any recommendations, please let me know and send me an invite. Thanks.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency