Insomnia - The evil of all times

I think many of us have been here. We go to bed so tired that we cannot keep our eyes open, but the minute our heads touch the pillow we are wide awake staring at the ceiling.

These last few nights have been really bad for me as I haven't slept much. I usually work early in the morning because I think better after having a good night's sleep. It's just logical to work when you are most alert because you get more work done. So not only am I tired, I hardly get any work done because I cannot concentrate. No amount of coffee can take this tired away.

Even though I lay in bed quietly trying not to move so I can eventually drift off to sleep, it is all just hopes and dreams. I have tried everything from reading to meditating, but to no avail.

I am very sensitive to sound and light, so it has to be pitchdark and deadquiet around me to fall asleep.

These last few nights I just cannot get my brain to switch off to give me the necessary sleep I need, and I found out while doing research about insomnia that the cause for my insomnia might be caused by a tablet the doctor prescribed to me last week for a stomach ulcer. So now I have a choice. I either stop taking the tablet as prescribed and sleep, or I stop taking the tablet and then stay awake due to stomachache.

I found this information when doing research.

What is insomnia?

Insomnia is a sleep disorder in which you have trouble falling and/or staying asleep. The condition can be short-term (acute) or can last a long time (chronic). It may also come and go. Acute insomnia lasts from 1 night to a few weeks. Insomnia is chronic when it happens at least 3 nights a week for 3 months or more.

What can be done to get rid of insomnia?

Not much.

You can do very little to prevent or cure it. Insomnia is mostly related to anxiety, lack of exercise and even certain medications you take. It can also be linked to an underlying illness or depression. So if you have a sudden attack of insomnia, then it might be best to go and see a doctor after a few days. A check-up can just do you good, and this will eliminate any anxiety you might have built up regarding this issue, because there is nothing like insomnia to jumpstart your imagination and to cause a hypochondria attack.

The only way to really solve it is to wait it out. Somewhere you will be tired enough to fall asleep. You might even want to try a sleeping tablet, but that has never worked for me and it makes me feel stupid the next day.

I hope you have a wonderful week and you sleep better than I do!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency