The outdoor read

20211011_172414~2.jpg

I've always been an avid reader and tend to go through a book every week or two. I make time for reading as it allows me to escape the every day moments and immerse myself in the stories I find on those pages. I'm a busy man though with something happening most of the time and have to fit reading into the spaces in between. I'm doing that right now.

I at the farm on which I control feral animals today and figured I'd bring my book in case I found some down-time between scanning for targets and shooting them. I'm don't always moving about much, the move little, look a lot adage tends to come into play more often than not; I typically stay in one fixed position. That's helped along by the fact I am able to shoot at great distance. I generally hike up to one of my shooters-hides which usually offers a wide arc of fire then scope the land around me for targets shooting them at long range. Sometimes I get bored though and so a book can help with that.

20211005_172141.jpg

It's been a pretty quiet afternoon so far and I've managed to get a few chapters read which, if I'm totally honest, I've neglected. I guess I've just had a lot of other stuff to take care of and considering I've not been sleeping well just haven't had the patience for it. It's been nice up here today though and I managed to get about a hundred pages read before I had to turn my attention back to the job at hand. I really wish those animals wouldn't cross the fence line but they do and I need to take care of it.

20211005_171049.jpg

There's something deeply satisfying about being out here and this type of solitude is hard to come by anywhere else these days. I am the only one here when I'm conducting shooting activities; it's just me and the cows, the birds, koalas, kangaroos, hares, rabbits, deer, snakes and whatever other little critters happen to be around the place. No humans.

I don't bring people here but I often think it'd be a great place to bring a partner, someone to sit with me and share in the wonder that nature offers; the peace and quiet. I sometimes imagine a rug laid out, us laying back, entwined...Yeah, it's a good image. I'm also permitted to camp out here so I sometimes have images of a little camp fire, that special girl beside me cuddled up and...

20211005_172625.jpg

...Well, I guess you've got an imagination and can probably finish that sentence right?


Today there was no one but me, my rifle and book. I spent a couple hours reading before I had to get to work and do the job I was engaged to do. I took three today and the rest high-tailed it back over the fence pretty quickly; being shot at is great motivation to bugger off and I don't blame them for doing it so effectively.

I'm incredibly fortunate to be trusted with this property and can come here any day of the week day or night. It's not always such a lovely day and I don't always have the luxury of being able to sit about reading but today was simply splendid and I made full use of it.

I hope y'all found a great start to the week this Monday and that you manage to create the rest of it in the image you desire it to take. Have a good one.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency