Lockdown reading: My current choice - What's yours?

I've been a voracious reader my whole life. I'm good it it, which probably sounds odd...I guess what I mean is that I read quickly but also absorb the material effectively; It means I churn through a lot of books. A lot.

I like many different books although history, war and fantasy are my favourite genres; It's always been difficult to define my main reading-interests though as I read very broadly. I try to stay away from the intellectual stuff though, as I'm not that smart...But smart enough not to pretend to be.

Today I thought it would be cool to share what I am reading right now and to invite others to do the same.

With lockdown around the world, and people probably having many more idle hours on their hands than usual...Well, we have to do something right? Reading seems like a pretty good option - One can't stare are YouTube and the TV or computer screen all day right? Right?

So...Here you go.



Vlad - The last confession (C.C. Humphreys)

Dracula is a name that seems to inspire horror, dark sensuality and deep depravity in people's minds. The story of Dracula has been told around the world for many years, a folk tale to scare children and adults alike...But what of the real Dracula?

Vlad Tepes, [Vlad III Dracula], commonly known as Vlad the Impaler, was the Romanian ruler of medieval Wallachia. Vlad was known for his abject cruelty and his penchant for impalement, among other things, but those two dark attributes being foremost.

The book Vlad takes the reader beyond simple cruelty though, and portrays him as a man, not simply a monster; Much more than a tyrant, crusader, mass-slaughterer, torturer and murderer...But also a lover and person with hopes, fears, dreams and desires...Like you and I.

The story is told by his closest confidants: The only woman he loved, but sacrificed, his closest comrade at arms, and his priest who betrays the secrets of the confessional to reveal the man behind Vlad Tepes, The Impaler.

The book burns with passion, hate, horror, betrayal and love and is full of graphic examples of Vlad's cruelty in torture, battle and in making examples of his enemies, [and sometimes friends.] One such element is the extremely graphic and detailed explanation of impalement - Not for the feint-hearted. The reader feels like they are there at the impalement a willing, but horrified, witness. There is many such scenes of horror and disgust.

The author takes the reader deep into a world of action, romance and intrigue through amazingly real characters and a story-line that twists and turns keeping one on the edge of their seat and hungering for more.

It is brutal, masterfully written and incredibly difficult to put down.



So, there you have it; This is what I'm reading at the moment. I'll be done in a day or so, maybe today in fact, and will move on but for now I'm engrossed in one of the most interesting and captivating stories I've ever read.

How about sharing what you're reading during the lockdown?

I'm not a fan of ebooks preferring the physical feel of a book in my hands but with many online sources there's no shortage of books to read and really no excuse not to be reading something.

Feel free to comment here and maybe consider doing a post about what you're reading right now.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency