First day at the office since 520 days!

Today was the day that I did go back to the office. We do have a new project lead, so it was time to meet her face to face! Since the 1st of March 2020, I haven't been to the office of the Client of my employer. That's 520 days!

The morning ritual!

For the first time since the 1st of March I did feel the time pressure in the morning. You do want to get at the office before the first meeting does start. It is only a 25 minutes drive but it is a 25 minute drive.

Also the kids do have their football camp this week, so for the first time in a year, we did need to call in the help from my parents! Luckily they were very happy to help out!

The drive!

Once alone in the car after dropping off the kids at my parents house, it did feel like it was yesterday that I drove to the office. But it was a great ride. It was the first time the Beast did cross the border to outside the country! I am very happy with his adaptive cruise control!

But then the problems did start! Normally I am not allowed to park in their parking lot, because I am rented in. But due to Covid and the fact that only 30% of the people are allowed, everybody is allowed to use the parking lot, which is in the basement of the office. So when at the gate, trying to use my badge, the gate didn't open. So after pressing the speak button they did open. But once at the parking you can't have access to the office. Still with the idea that my badge only didn't work at the parking gates, I couldn't open any door at all.

The problem is that these are tourniquets which only allows one person. So I did have to sneak in with somebody else. Not really covid proof I would say!

The office

Everywhere there are signs, walking paths and so on. It has turned out to be a one direction office. Places were you normally would sit with 8, only allows 2 persons!

Really strange! So it was time to find a desk and my colleagues. But if you only can sit with 2, it doesn't have a lot of advantage coming to the office! Regardless of that it was nice to chat with some colleagues which aren't a member if my team. You really can have some chit chat, which it was I did miss at home.

What also was a culture shock for me that month masks weren't mandatory. In Belgium this is. My wife has to put on their month mask when she stands up from her chair. Here none is needed!

But having 2 monitors is better than only have the laptop at home. So first thing to do when I do come home is to order one or two monitors!

Also strange that I had to eat at my desk, normally I would do this when walking around but the weather did not allow this!

Lunch.jpg

But you need to get use to office sounds again. People calling and chatting, which makes it hard to concentrate! I do need to get used to this again!

Also the coffee is lesser than at home!

koffie.jpg

But the view is better!

view.jpg

Still it was a great day and something to do much more often. For sure I won't wait another 520 days :)

Cheers,
Peter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency