My introduction to the Hive community

Here comes a rather amplified description of what is @Akane47 all about, who's Akane (which comes with a bit of autobiography), what's Akane production, and what you could expect to find in this blog.

However, before we get into that, for those of you who are touched by contemporary life's fast pace and are not the biggest fan of lengthy notes and description, there's a diagram -sufficient in context and audience clarifications-, following the "Context and Target Audience" heading, which you can skip to.

Prologue

"Specialization is the key to success in our century!"
Or so it's said and is indeed true. Howsoever, having to develop other skills or getting involved in survival jobs -that may have nothing to do with your passions and dreams- is a quite familiar matter for almost every artist. I'm no different on that account (not to mention Geographical algebra and hereditary misfortunes added some bonus to my path's difficulty level).
In fact, the aforementioned factor is the reason why this blog is a poly-subjected one rather than being dedicated to a single form of art.

CollageMaker_20210718_201120794.jpg

Where my journey began

Being a right-brained person, my obsession with art and a love for creative activities were revealed early on as my prior characteristics. Therefore my life has always been surrounded by a form of art (be it visual or not). However, what you'd be reading here is limited to activities and backstories that are directly related to this blog's context.

Speaking of illustrations and fine arts, I'm a self-taught artist. And it all began as an adventurous discovery for me.
Exploring visual arts -be it theoretical or practical- was like stepping into a wonder-garden as a herbalist to me. I wanted to observe, examine, learn, and collect as much as I could.

Thataway -on the practical side- I shifted from pen and pastels to oil colour, watercolour, and acrylics in my early teens.

IMG_20210711_175153.jpg

CollageMaker_20210711_174256097.jpg

The two pieces above are among the first oil colour explorations that I've made while I was twelve.

IMG_20210712_192724.jpg

IMG_20210711_185003.jpg

👆These two are watercolour explorations from my mid-teens. [I've mentioned "exploration" instead of "artwork" as they're copies of preexisting pieces. in other words, they're more like technical practices based on material properties and qualifications analysis.] [*You have my apologies for the quality of these pictures as they are old ones.]

By the end of my teen ages, I've learned to make a decent piece of art using the following materials, which you can expect to find on my page:
pencils (graphite, polychromatic, water-soluble, conté)- ink- coal- soft pastels- markers(water and alcohol-based)- poster colour- oil colour- watercolour- acrylics- resin- glass colour- fabric colour

Though, creating any decent sort of artwork requires some theoretical knowledge (in this case, visual literacy, aesthetics, colour and shape theories, art history, technical guides, et cetera). Thus, I followed an art studies schedule while I've been developing my technical skills. Also, my BA studies complimented my theoretical knowledge, helped me attain a better understanding of audience and marketing needs, hence sustainability. That being said, occasional theoretical readings would be an expected accompaniment to my posts. There will also be some "book recommendation" posts which are originated in this background!

I had never been fond of digital arts. My obsession with the sense of tangibility that the analogue platform provided did not allow me to connect to the digital world deservedly.
Nonetheless, that preference had to come to an end soon. Due to a hereditary misfortune, I have lost some percentage of my eyesight and gained a number of disabilities. As sudden and unexpected as the event had overshadowed my status, I felt frustrated and distant from both art and life for a couple of months.
Eventually, a point had come where I gathered my wits together and decided to make a living as long as I survive. There I had learned to replace alterations with suspension. I had to switch to techniques, tools, and schools that would either cover my flaws - specifically caused by vision glitches- or turn them into benefits. It all forced a change of lifestyle as well, a rather harsh but fruitful one.

Nowadays, I favour the digital platform as much as the analogue, if not more. I might have even grown addicted to it since I've been caught red-handed trying to zoom into peppers or curse the analogue platform for lack of "control+z" option! :)

Akane's Genesis

BeFunky-collage (2).jpg
Self portrait + My label's logo

As I've engaged a more professional approach in the arts (In my early twenties), I've picked Akane (茜) as my pseudonym and used it henceforth. Before that, I used A.K.H (The first character of my first and last name).

Akane production

IMG_20210715_155540.jpg
👆some of my fashion studies works (original and copies of pre-existing ones) + my tailoring works

I'm educated in Fashion Design and have mastered multiple tailoring courses.
After gaining enough experience, I've started to run my own label to gain legal rights over my original works. My self-employed career was initiated with a low budget. I had to work on a limited scale and took care of every step by myself.
As for today, my business had evolved and expanded to occasional local co-operations. Still, I'm looking forward to further developments and envisage international headways.

The labelled works I'll be sharing with you here are my designs, prior tailoring works or outfits that I've made for myself, all by myself.

Context & Target Audience

So far, the previous topics must have assembled a clear answer to all the matters mentioned in the opening paragraph.
The following diagram, however, offers an outline of this blog's context, featuring the target communities (accordingly target audience).

IMG_20210710_232136.jpg

What remains untold is each context's ratio and posting frequency. The two matters highly depend on my lifestyle changes. Sometimes I'll have to travel for months and couldn't carry any equipment but digital art's! other times, I'll have to make new collections or find some free time to make some new outfits for myself. I will often update you with the changes and write some spoilers about upcoming posts, however.
As for posting frequency, I'm doing my best to focus on posts quality, utility, and absorbability. The two aforementioned facts concomitance will likely bring a low posting frequency. Notwithstanding, I'll try to improve it in time.

Exodos

As a fellow artist, I had been through tones of tops and turves, made many mistakes and learned some lessons. During this journey, what I enjoyed the most was the company of the artistic souls that saw members of their guild as participators rather than competitors. They sought to elevate artists as a family rather than promoting themselves by bringing others down.
I believe unrivalled artworks can be created through art mastery. As every soul seems unique enough to result in distinctive creations [Not to mention post-modern theorists, fiercely deny this perspective!].

I for one have a lot to learn; I don't even believe to be halfway through my journey. So I can't brag about sharing master hints here. Howsoever, I'll conventionally share a part of my experience and knowledge with you, under the title of "tips and tricks", "technical guides", and step by step technical posts. Although these posts wouldn't be fulfilling unless I'd be receiving feedbacks from my audience, which I'm looking forward to.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency