Inktober 2021, Day 3: Vessel

Vessel - Ink drawing, 21x16cm, 2021

Human creations can be clever pieces of engineering. At the same time, they can also be the next-level creepy. While I am not scared of being on boats, the thought of getting in the water next to one makes me shiver. I am not sure it is the correct term, but fear of man made things submerged in the water is called Submechanophobia. Yea, none of that, please!


That said, the day 3 prompt of Inktober was - vessel. A cargo vessel came to my mind. Yes, it is carrying only one, giant container! xD In other words, don’t expect geometry or physics to work with this one. Drawing man made structures and objects is not my forte. I gave it a try nonetheless since it is meant to be a challenge after all.

I decided that monochrome tones would fit nicely for this ghostly cargo vessel from my nightmares coming to hunt you. After a bunch of struggling with the pencil sketch, I was finally content with it. Luckily, the paper was not too damaged at that point either. I used a Pigma Brush Pen for line work. I think I have improved at handling it, as long as I don’t go too fast and line towards me instead of lining away from me. It is easier to control the brush that way.

To create the slightly rusty look of the corpus of this monstrosity, I used my trusted Jet black Diamine drawing ink. I used a lot more water in the lighter spots. The ink is diluting to the sides and gives a gray tint to the paper in the process and some fun patterns on the edges of the linework as well. I think it worked out just right for what I intended.

Overall, I am not too mad with the result despite my struggles with objects made by humans.

What are you up to these days?

Song of the day: The Birthday Massacre - One

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency