Inktober 2021, Day 27: Spark

Spark - Ink drawing, 21x16 cm, 2021

Did day 27 spark joy to you? Spark was the word of the day. Flames and flying sparks seemed like fitting imagery for this theme. I wanted to draw a torch of some sort and spent some time sketching out different designs. The spikey, fiery flower torch it had to be! I am unsure what the old wizard is burning in this torch that creates the sparks, but it does. It must be some secret ingredient!


The tools and materials used: Hahnemühle Mixed Media paper 310 g/m² at the size 21x16 cm, I have been enjoying working with this paper and the texture of it; Faber-Castell pencil 2B is my trusted tool for sketching bits since it does not leave much of scrapes in the paper; a Pigma Brush pen is my go-to tool for linework since it also does not leave markings in the paper; the Diamine drawing inks - Jet Black for the torch shading and color, Canary Yellow and Ruby for the flames are the perfect combination for the flames; Sakura Gelly Roll liner 08 for the highlights on the torch.

It was the second time I drew flames in a while. I love that this challenge has the prompts. I am trying to stick with them as closely as I can since that pushes me out of my comfort zone and makes me draw things I, perhaps, would not usually. I enjoyed figuring out how to make my sparks more spark-like as well as the flames. Did I do ok? I like them. ^^

Thank you for having a look. I hope you are enjoying what I have created so far! See you tomorrow for day 28! Oh my goodness, can you believe there are only four more pieces left? Aaa!

Song of the day: Billie Eilish - Everybody Dies

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency