Inktober 2021, Day 25: Splat

Splat - Ink drawing, 21x16 cm, 2021

Day 25 was permission to be messy! The theme was - splat! I managed to stain and get droplets of ink not only on the paper but also all over the table! And on the rest of my stuff too! Bwahaha! Usually, I am more careful handling my inks since getting the stains out is a nightmare. Oh well!


How to make splats? I wondered as well and looked up stuff on Youtube, this tutorial had the perfect method, and so I decided to give it a go. I acquired myself some straws and syringes, and I was ready. The syringe is great for collecting some liquid ink in it and dropping the ink droplets from high on the paper. That then creates the splat effect. The straw is helpful to blow air on the droplet that already sits on the paper to make it more spikey. It is so fun to play around with ink and see what effects can be worked out using such simple tools.

I did not have a specific plan for this one. I enjoyed splatting inks around. The fiery tones spoke to me today.

I tried to layer them as much as possible. I waited for each layer to dry before adding the next. They still blended as the next layer was applied, but also created amazing patterns.

After I finished splatting around, I decided I wanted to fill the blank spaces with black color. I used a Pigma Brush pen for that.

Finally, I added some of my silly patterns and stars all over it since it started to look like some epic space collision.

The splat kicks off the last week of the challenge. I am tired, can you tell I am tired? If only you could see me xD Better not! I look like a flipping zombie. I am after your brains and your coffee supplies!

Song of the day: We Are Bulletproof: the Eternal

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency