Inktober 2021, Day 16: Compass

Compass - Ink drawing, 21x16 cm, 2021

The theme of day 16 was - Compass. We have a giant compass in the night sky! Sort of… that is my interpretation of the theme. It certainly is possible to navigate and find your way using stars if you have at least basic knowledge of constellations. Here, in the Northern hemisphere, it is important to learn how to spot the Ursa Major and Ursa Minor in the night sky, otherwise known as the Great and the Little bear. At the tip of the tail of the Little bear is Polaris or the North Star. Find Polaris, and you find the north! The Great bear also can help you to pinpoint the Polaris.


Can you spot them dancing in my ink night sky?

It just dawned to me that this process looks like the owl meme, so here you have it for your entertainment and dose of laughter xD I used a bunch of tools to create this one - Diamine drawing jet black ink, Diamine fountain pen ink Arabian Nights, Diamine fountain pen ink Sherwood Green, a hint of teal Diamine drawing ink that arrived in the mail to me this week for the night sky, Pigma Micron fine liner 03 for the layers of dots to darken some areas and make them more fun, Sakura Gelly Roll white liner 08 for stars, and Pigma Brush pen for the background frame, which I feel, made the artwork more complete.

I was accompanied by Muse, one of my favorite bands of all time, and found inking this tiny drawing relaxing. Hope you like it!

This batch of inks is the newest addition to my ink obsession. Diamine drawing & calligraphy inks - Teal, Peacock, Ruby, and Canary Yellow. Made in Uk. These inks are super pigmented, tiniest amounts go a long way, and they have a more acrylic finish, which I prefer over the matte inks. I love them and am super impressed with their performance! So much so that I went through the pain of dealing with customs to order some more of the jet black ink bottles directly from the Uk since they were not available anywhere else in Latvian shops.

These will be useful for the rest of the challenge I am sure! ^^

I am still about halfway there. Thank you for visiting my blog, for your support, and for your encouraging comments! See you tomorrow!

Song of the day: Muse - Starlight

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency