BeeInspired Initiative | Creating a Cartoon Character for my Daughter's Biology Project

Greetings, dear Hivers

This is my entry to @theycallmedan's #BeeInspired Initiative (see details here). My 12-year-old daughter (who lives with her mother in another town and who I have not seen in 10 months) is going crazy with distant/on-line school year and she is not very good at drawing, so when she was asked to design a cartoon character out of a biology lab class she panicked. I've always encouraged my children to do their own school work, but there are exceptional situations when I cannot say no.

IMG_20201103_120625  copia.jpg

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Teachers are overloading kids with homework and assignments at a rate that they would not cover on a regular school year. With all the limitations we have in Venezuela, this is doubly troubling. Additionally, they are aksing kids to do things regardless of their artistic talents. Any teacher who has been through college knows about Multiple Intelligences and should know that if you want kids to learn while working on a school project you have to make sure the kids themselves can do it, that you provide them with options so that they can fulfill the assignment to the best of their abilities and talents.

The thing is that my little Anna was asked to produce a comic strip to illustrate a biology class, especifically Lab Materials. Anna is not very good at drawing and she did not want to fail this assignment, so she asked me to help her with that. She produced the script of the comic strip and I drew a rough sketch she will later color and frame comic book-style.

It had been a hard week for me with some emotional burdens piling up, but I found inspiration and delivered what my daughter needed before the due date to make sure she can do her part on time.
This was the initial sketch.

IMG_20201103_163650.jpg

These were the final panels. Lab instruments were divided in teams: The Heaters, The Holders, The Measurers...

lab instruments.jpg

  • Hi, I'm Tubby. Come meet my lab partners. I have divided them by teams, each of which with very important missions
  • Thanks to my ressistance, you can heat or melt materials.
    Without me you could not heat the substances or materials needed.
  • Hugs!
    Don't let me fall.
    Tongs are very useful.
  • This is the best team to measure any material or substance.

The Observers, and The Disectors.

lab instruments 2.jpg

  • Thanks to this friend we can see the microscopic world that is invisible to our eyes.
  • You have to be careful with these friends. They can cut through any thing.
    We all contribute to the realization of tests and experiments to advance sciences.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

It was really fun to collaborate with my daughter on this. She changed the last design to make it look funny and intimidating at the same time. I hope I delivered her concept well. This was my first attempt at drawing sequential art. I love comic books, but I had never tried to draw a strip reproducing the same character in different situations. I liked the experience. I thank my daughter for having inspired me to do it. She is very smart and always does great at school; drawing is just not her thing.

Hope you guys liked the drawings. See you next time

Thanks for stopping by


Hive logo.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency