Paraluman: Digital Artwork Process

Hello everyone!

I do not know why but I am so pumped today. I wanted to share the recent digital painting that I made. It is so recent that I just finished it thirty (30) minutes ago. I started my day so late because I already woke up around eleven in the morning after doing something naughty. If you wonder what it is, just don't bother to ask because I am not in the mood to talk about that thing. Ha ha! They say sleep is for the week, but for someone like me who is approaching 30, sleep is very essential. It brings me peace and happiness.

Anyhow, prior to a short breakup, my boyfriend took the tablet that he gave me and gave it to his mom. I decided then to buy my own because I am so fond now of digital painting, probably because of my lack of experience. I also decided to buy one because I wanted to practice. I also find it essential to have a pseudo-laptop and phone experience while browsing the web or while studying. It took me a month before I was able to buy one because my salary has been delayed. My next gadget project after this tablet is a good laptop. It might take me some months though because I still have some bills to pay, including my insurance of course. Then I would also love to invest on a great drawing tablet.I know having a great drawing tablet is way better than having the mobile one.

Too much of my new tablet, I might not be then able to share about it to you next time on my next blog Now let us proceed with what I was talking about .

Untitled10_20210907195829.png

If you are wondering what application I used, I used IbisPaintX. This one is the unpaid version or the free one from the market.I only used two layers for this one because I find it trivial to have a lot of lawyers. The first layer is for the subject and the flowers, the other one then is for the black background.

For the first part, I chose the size that I think I could work better with. I prefer the square one. I then looked for a brush that I could work along with. It took me sometime though to decide since there were more than 300 brushes or styles that I could choose from.

Screenshot_20210907_190514_jp.ne.ibis.ibispaintx.app.hms.jpg

Screenshot_20210907_190527_jp.ne.ibis.ibispaintx.app.hms.jpg

For digital painting, I actually tried learning from watching the videos some artists post on youtub . Unfortunately,I always end up saving those videos in my library and not learning from it.

Screenshot_20210907_190642_jp.ne.ibis.ibispaintx.app.hms.jpg

After sketching the shape of the face with a thick brush using a bit of beige color, I used a darker shade of brown for the hair using the same brush.

received_4503652869713751.jpeg

received_396478438540605.jpeg

received_1003944973769214.jpeg

In regard with the face, it really took me a while since it requires a lot of blending and adding of colors. It feels like I am painting. It was like a trial and error for me since I could not determine as to how my work would look like at the moment I use another color to blend the skin with.

received_217400530369864.jpeg

To put a contour on the face when it comes to the nose and shape of the face, and of the eyes, I used a darker shade of brown. I usually see this step on some digital artwork processes over youtube. I find this also helpful because in the long run, I do not need to put a shade on that corner.

received_197914189070841.jpeg

I was laughing my ass out when I reached this point because it seemed to be that I was painting my boyfriend instead of trying to create an image that my mind was not able to foresee. I mean, I was merely painting and I have no idea how I should execute my artwork. As usual, I was trying to be very spontaneous.

received_524005065364566.jpeg

received_6031784263558203.jpeg

I used another brush, I guess it was a pen at the moment I need to put small lines in the subject's eyes so that it would somehow look realistic. I also added eyeshadow for this subject so that she would not look dull.

received_6031784263558203.jpeg

received_1020995222063663.jpeg

received_920999978759746.jpeg

received_1595816440749539.jpeg

received_638728623954216.jpeg

I enhance the Paraluman's face by contouring it. I also tried making her nose look more realistic by getting rid of some edges using the smudge technique. It was honestly tiring, but like I usually tell myself that I should trust the process.

received_3323733594520347.jpeg

received_879673249317788.jpeg

received_992780714618516.jpeg

received_822320058432224.jpeg

There are still a lot of details I wish to add but I still need to study Japanese and Spanish so here is my product.

I hope I could find some time to practice tomorrow during my lunch break.

P.s. If some of you are wonderding, we are good now but I hate it when something like that happens.

Love,
Johanna Gail


ā€‹
Johanna Gail H. Tongco or also known as gailbelga is a licensed professional teacher working on various fields. She took her bachelors degree at Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan, taking up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies. She also completed her Academic Requirements in Masters in Public Administration and had her Certificate of Teaching in University of Sciences and Technology of Southern Philippines.
She loves to work as an art teacher during summer -- sharing her expertise in art to young minds. She also loves to tutor students and make learning worthwhile. On the other hand, she works as a young leader in various organizations such as the Young Centrists Union. She also volunteers in one of the chapters of JCI or Junior Chamber International.
She always dreamed of creating her dream art studio and wish to inspire young minds to be more creative.
.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency