I'm Forever Blowing (Fractal) Bubbles: Another Spherical Experience in Apophysis 2.09!

The beginner experience ...

bubbles 1.png

Euclidean geometry gives of the math of spheres and spheroids ... but only fractal geometry gives us the math of the colorful film that floats on every bubble!

I was one of those kids who loved blowing bubble after bubble after bubble in a long stream ... you had to be really, really good at it, on a relatively still day to get a stream of them to line up so perfectly.

Likewise, in Apophysis 2.09, you had to get just the right starter fractal, although this one didn't seem like much ...

bubbly starter.png

If you were to draw a line, you could see that there is a sort of circular motion in the figure, spiraling inward, with a slight depth to the image ...

bubbly starter with drawn spiral.png

So that suggested to me to nudge this fractal flame in a circular direction, and, sure enough, upon Apophysis 2.09 doing its million iterations upon drawing the image, the shape I drew popped right out, both in the material of the discrete portions and the direction they are moving in ... and there emerged that beautiful bubble film as well. At that point I knew I was on to something!

bubbly commas.png

Almost but not quite ... the next attempt was what you see above!

However, everyone knows that if you are REALLY good at blowing bubbles, and have a big enough bubble wand, you can blow bubbles IN bubbles!

Sure enough, the math of bubbles in this fractal yielded me the ADVANCED triumph I was looking for!

bubbles 2.png

The most amazing thing about this fractal ... you can still see that comma shape in the back of it ... and in all the littler "bubbles"!

One more thing: bubble blowing has been a bit of a casualty of the pandemic ... but I assure you that THESE contain nothing but pure joy and love, and I hope you catch that when they POP in your imagination!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency