Use of different grades of pencils in shading|


You may have seen artists using a wide variety of pencils for making one drawing. Or you might have even tried it before. What makes we do this? Why won't we could use only one pencil instead of having many?

While making drawing with pencils we could use one dark pencil - like I would say an 8B grade pencil - and use it wisely with varying pressure and make changes in its contrast on the paper. When we apply more pressure it gives us strong black and when we use it lightly it gives light shades. But, this may cause damage to our paper. When we strike it hard there is a big chance of damaging the surface. So there comes the use of different grades of pencils.

If we use different pencils of a varying grade like Hb, 2B, 3B, 4B etcetera in proper positions as per requirement we could have a wonderful gradual change in the shades and shade strength without making the paper ugly.


IMG_20210701_143758-01.jpeg


20210701_144034.gif



In this drawing here I used pencils of grades - 2H, Hb, 2B, 3B, 5B, and 8B of same brand, which is also important for the complete shading process. First I used the 2H pencil for creating the basic sketch. Then I used the Hb pencil to strengthen some borders for a detailed view. And with the same Hb pencil I finished some light shading. Then I switched into the 2B which I used to shade like a wash over the whole drawing.
My next step was to smudge the shades into the paper to fill the gaps of the paper. This step was needed because the quality of paper wasn't that good even ut was a 300gsm paper. Again I continued to switch between pencils without having a break between them to have the gradual change in shades.

Finally I used the most darker pencil I had which is 8B and I managed to raise some sharp edges in the darker portions and places where needed extreme dark shades like in the dress part in this sketch.

Another important part in pencil drawing is the highlights. Here I didn't used any tools to bring the highlights into ply, instead I left spaces for it as per the reference picture needed, so I will talk about the importance of highlighting in another post soon.
So I got the final drawing like this.


IMG20210701142409.jpg

Drawing

Project 4.png


Find me here
@artographer

Let's connect on
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency