Probando habilidades de fotografía y diseño [ENG/ESP]

*****English version*****

(Abajo está la versión en español)

Several days ago, I made the second of a couple of figures I had planned to make. The first of these figures was Mechagodzilla, which I made about two months ago; the second was King Ghidora, a much more recent one.

You can see the process of making each figure by following these links:
Mechagodzilla:@gaboamc2393/electronic-world-my-participation-in-the-contest-mechagodzilla-engesp
King Ghidora:@gaboamc2393/cardboard-world-king-ghidorah-engesp

When I finished both figures I decided to take a series of photographs to make a diorama of both monsterverse characters facing each other. This is what this post will be about, how I put my photography skills to the test to capture this diorama and my design skills to edit the pictures taken.

1

To take the photographs I set up a simple scenario, a table with a beige tablecloth and a white cloth background. The first photograph I took was of the two figures facing each other at close range, as if they were about to attack each other.

2

Editing

To edit all the photographs I used Photoshop. What I did with this photograph was something very simple. I used the eraser tool to erase the background and then used the Interpret>Clouds filter.

I duplicated the clouds layer, placing one under the layer of my photograph, which would serve as the background; the other layer of clouds I placed on top of my photograph and with the eraser I started to erase to give more visibility to the beasts.

Next I went to the menu Image>Adjustments>Black and White. Once there I played with the different values to get the desired result:

2


The photograph below is the same as the one above but taken from a different angle. As you can see with the naked eye I achieved better detail of the parts that make up the figure.

3.png

Editing

With this picture I wanted to experiment a little more, so I removed the background with the Magic Wand tool. I placed a city background and applied one of the artistic filters that comes with the program. I applied this filter both to the city background and to the same layer where the monsters are. After applying an orange gradient map and lowering its opacity the result was the following:

3-a.png


With this photograph I wanted to show the point of view that Mechagodzilla would have of King Ghidora. I don't know if it was the best picture I could take or if from another angle it could have looked better, but I took several pictures trying to do this and from all of them this was the one that looked the best.

4.png

Editing

Of all of them, this one has the simplest editing and the one I liked the least. I don't know why but I didn't manage to fully integrate the images or at least that's how I perceive it. However, I managed to do something at least interesting. The first thing I did was to erase the background again and place a background with lightning.

I also applied a radial blur to blur Mechagodzilla a bit and give a better view to King Ghidora. I also used other gradient maps to give more color to the edition.

4-a.png


Again this is another picture similar to the first one, with the difference that here I laid King Ghidorah on a high object to simulate that he was flying towards Mechagodzilla, that's why you can only see the three heads and part of the wings. Meanwhile, Mechagodzilla is seen standing on the table, in a different position than his rival.

5.png

Editing

For this photograph I wanted to do something different from the previous ones, so I simply applied the artistic filter called "Quartetting", which made that cartoon-like effect. I did this on a duplicate of the original layer. I erased the dondo of the original layer to make this effect look better, but I left certain features of the original layer, so that the texture of Ghidorah skin or the components that Mechagodzilla is made of could be appreciated.

This was the result:

5-a.png


The last picture I took was under the same scenario of the previous one but from another angle. I liked this King Ghidorah is flying and Godzilla is from below waiting for him.

6.png

Editing

After doing the editing of the first photo, I really liked the result and wanted to repeat it, only with a bit of color. The result is the same, only instead of leaving everything to black and white, I simply left the original layer in color and used yellowish and blue brushes to apply in the areas I wanted to leave with color.

The result is the one I like the most of all the edits I did. This is what the image looks like:

6-a.png


These were all the pictures I took on this diorama of a fight between King Ghidorah and Mechagodzilla, at least they were the best pictures in my opinion.

I would like to know if you have any advice for me or suggestions to help me improve in all this photography or editing stuff. If you like to leave any comments, I will be happy to read them.

I hope that my publication, photographs and editions have been to your liking. With nothing more to add, I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!



*****Versión en español*****

Hace varios días atrás, hice la segunda de un par de figuras que tenía planeado hacer. La primera de estas figuras fue la de Mechagodzilla, la cual hice hace dos meses aproximadamente; la segunda fue la de King Ghidorah, una mucho más reciente.

Puedes ver el proceso de realización de cada figura siguiendo estos enlaces:
Mechagodzilla:@gaboamc2393/electronic-world-my-participation-in-the-contest-mechagodzilla-engesp
King Ghidorah:@gaboamc2393/cardboard-world-king-ghidorah-engesp

Cuando terminé ambas figuras decidí tomar una serie de fotografías para hacer un diorama de ambos personajes del monsterverse enfrentándose entre sí. De esto tratará esta publicación, de cómo puse a prueba mis habilidades en fotografía para capturar este diorama y mis habilidades de diseño para editar las fotografías tomadas.

1

Para tomar las fotografías me armé un escenario sencillo, una mesa con un mantel beige y un fondo de tela blanca. La primera fotografía que tomé fue la de las dos figuras frente a frente y a poca distancia, como si estuviesen a punto de atacarse.

2

Edición

Para editar todas las fotografías usé Photoshop. Lo que hice con esta fotografía fue algo muy simple. Usé la herramienta de borrador para borrar el fondo y luego usé el filtro de Interpretar>Nubes.

Dupliqué la capa de las nubes, colocando una bajo la capa de mi fotografía, la cual serviría de fondo; la otra capa de nubes la coloqué encima de mi fotografía y con el borrador comencé a borrar para dar mayor visibilidad a las bestias.

Lo siguiente fue ir al menú Imagen>Ajustes>Blanco y Negro. Una vez allí jugué con los distintos valores que hay para obtener el resultado deseado:

2


La fotografía a continuación es la misma que la de arriba pero tomada desde un ángulo distinto. Como se observa a simple vista logré mejor detalle de las partes que componen la figura.

3.png

Edición

Con esta fotografía quise experimentar un poco más, así que le quité el fondo con la herramienta de Varita mágica. Le coloqué un fondo de ciudad y le apliqué uno de los filtros artisticos que trae el programa. Este filtro lo apliqué tanto al fondo de la ciudad como a la misma capa donde están los monstruos. Tras aplicar un mapa de degradado naranja y bajar la opacidad del mismo el resultado fue el siguiente:

3-a.png


Con esta fotografía buscaba mostrar el punto de vista que tendría Mechagodzilla de King Ghidora. No sé si fue la mejor fotografía que pude tomar o si desde otro ángulo pudo haber quedado mejor, pero hice varias fotografías intentando hacer esto y de entre todas esta fue la que mejor quedó.

4.png

Edición

De todas, esta tiene la edición más simple y que menos me gustó. No sé por qué pero no logré integrar del todo las imágenes o al menos así lo percibo yo. Sin embargo, logré hacer algo cuando menos interesante. Lo primero fue borrar el fondo nuevamente y colocarle un fondo donde había rayos y relámpagos.

También apliqué un desenfoque radial para difuminar un poco a Mechagodzilla y dar mayor vista a King Ghidora. También usé otros mapas de degradado para dar mas color a la edición.

4-a.png


Nuevamente esta es otra fotografía similar a la primera, con la diferencia que aquí acosté a King Ghidorah sobre un objeto alto para simular que estaba volando hacia Mechagodzilla, por eso solo se ven las tres cabezas y parte de las alas. Mientras tanto, Mechagodzilla sí se ve de pie sobre la mesa, en una posición distinta a la de su rival.

5.png

Edición

Para esta fotografía quise hacer algo distinto a las anteriores, así que simplemente apliqué el filtro artístico llamado "Cuarteado", el cual hizo ese efecto parecido a caricatura. Esto lo hice sobre un duplicado de la capa original. Borré el dondo de la capa original para que se viese mejor este efecto, pero dejé ciertos rasgos de la capa original, para que se apreciara la textura de la piel de Ghidorah o los componentes de los que está hecho Mechagodzilla.

Este fue el resultado:

5-a.png


La última fotografía que tomé fue bajo el mismo escenario de la anterior pero desde otro ángulo. Me gustó mucho más esta porque se ve mejor el efecto de que King Ghidorah está volando y Godzilla está desde abajo esperándolo.

6.png

Edición

Tras hacer la edición de la primera foto, el resultado me gustó mucho y quise repetirlo, solo que con un poco de color. El resultado es el mismo, solo que en lugar de dejar todo a blanco y negro, simplemente dejé la capa original a color y usé pinceles de colores amarillentos y azules para aplicar en las áreas que deseaba dejar con color.

El resultado es el que más me gusta de todas las ediciones que hice. Así quedó la imagen:

6-a.png


Esta fueron todosas las fotografías que tomé sobre este diorama de una lucha entre King Ghidorah y Mechagodzilla, al menos fueron las mejores fotografías según mi opinión.

Me gustaría saber si tienen algún consejo para mi o sugerencia que me ayude a mejorar en todo esto de la fotografía o edición. Si gustan dejar algún comentario, estaré encantado de leerlos.

Espero que mi publicación, las fotografías y las ediciones hayan sido de su agrado. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!




Imagenes editadas con Photoshop
Traducido con DeepL
Photos edited with Photoshop
Translated with DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Learn with Gabo #4 / Aprende con Gabo #4
Peanuts and monster Weekend / Fin de semana de cacahuetes y monstruos
My participation in Cardboard World: King Ghidorah








H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency