Which language do you think in?

rando post and thoughts in english

which mostly cause of hive has become the dominant language in my head the past few years. I feel like I've had quite a unique upbringing when it comes to languages. I learned many of them quick when I was young, supposedly that's when you learn the fastest and best, i.e. long-lasting, which I think I can verify at this stage.

To easily explain this without giving you too much info, there's a language I started out with as a kid I wouldn't want to mention which for doxxing reasons, then I got into learning german by watching A LOT of tv and ordering comic books/manga home. Germans love to dub their stuff and being in a country with a shit selection of TV channels we had to have a satellite in every home we lived in cause german TV was very entertaining in the 90s. Eventually we moved to Finland where I was the odd one out cause we decided to live in the south and in this specific region majority of people spoke swedish (5% of the finnish population speak swedish as their main language). Switching schools and me being the kid not speaking any of the languages the others did (swedish + finnish), they decided best to just let me learn swedish first so I could understand something in the other classes. This lead to me being behind on finnish which kids would usually start to learn in 3rd grade, here we were in 6th grade and I had just learned enough swedish to understand and speak it okay. Luckily I knew german quite okay which made learning swedish quite easy but finnish was quite a different ballpark and my dislike for it didn't help learning it.

English eventually came along and I did quite alright there in school as well and I remember that it was around this time where my "thinking language" became swedish, away from german and the other language. I was never strong in english though, it would take many more years before the interest came there mostly due to websites/online activities and multiplayer gaming. So for the longest time I had swedish as my main language but that has changed lately too as I moved away from finland and have been moving around a fair bit here and there mostly just happy to escape the cold and darkness after all these years.

Anyway, I do sometimes wonder how this shift in main languages may have affected me, surely many other things may have affected my brain to a higher degree but I'm sure language have had some impact too. When I some times try to speak a language I haven't spoken in forever, like german, it feels like my tone and voice change quite a bit so I wonder if switching back to it fully would also change how I think about things and act, mostly the former of course. I also wonder how switching to english may have changed me. You are what you think I guess but does it change you at all in which language you think?

I've also noticed that sometimes when I dream I may dream in some of the other languages what feels like at random (but of course never finnish cause f that xd (jk i love finnish in heavy/folk metal)). In the dreams I of course speak it fluently, somehow my brain thinks my german is still that strong even though I haven't used it in decades and whenever I happen to read some hive posts in german or comments I prefer to reply in english cause it would just take me forever to write and think of the right words or maybe even need the help of google translate here and there. Surprisingly when I'm drunk it's a lot easier to speak languages you haven't spoken in a long time, all the words you didn't think you remembered anymore are suddenly all there as fluent as the beer (wait that doesn't really make sense in english).

Which brings me to another thing, puns and jokes. Do you know how annoying it is to have great puns or jokes at certain interactions but they don't fucking work with the language used then and there? and being the guy who's like "eheheh, this word actually means this in swedish so haha u said this which also means this and is relatable to the thing but something completely different, get it, is it still funny after the 8 sentences of me explaining it to you? wut, you forgot what we were talking about? ye me too.

Anyway, random latenight shitpost, wonder what language I'll be dreaming in tonight, it better not be python cause don't wanna turn my zzz's into sss's.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency