Cyranoid

photo-1576431468464-f5f981bf142d.jpeg
source

We all have secrets. Secrets that we're ready to do anything to keep them hidden, no matter how small they are. All that matters is that they remain in the dark. But my secrets? They are worth dying for and now they are about to be exposed.

It was 2 am when I received a call from Mr. Chin, my Confessor. He's a professional banker who keeps records of financial statements and transactions. but that wasn't his real occupation, it was a cover-up. Mr. Chin is known for his skills in collecting secrets from dangerous criminals or people that wish to hide their dark past, then he inputs them into a flash drive. And those Flash drives are hidden in a briefcase, stored in a safe vault. The vault is built with an eye-retina recognition system, only accessible by Mr. Chin.

The clock hit 2 am and the cuckoo sound was heard. I looked at the clock and went back to my reading, a beautiful poem about Covid-19 impacts on our lives, written by Crymi. Shortly the phone rang with a shrill noise and I picked it up in the first ring. I looked at the caller's name and I spoke into the phone.

"Hello?"

"Mr. Townsend," the voice on the phone called my name.

"Yes. Mr. Chin. What do I owe this call in the middle of the night? Sleepwalking again?" I asked jokingly.

"No, Sir! There's an issue with the safe vault."

I quickly adjusted my chair and changed my posture.

"What is it, Chin?"

"Si… Sir… There was a break in the vault. Your flash drive was taken."

Immediately I heard that shocking news, I dropped the phone on the floor, as Mr. Chin's voice kept echoing from the phone.

The next morning, I made some arrangements and asked some of my men to do some findings of last night's attack on the safe vault. While I paid a visit to Mr. Chin's house to get the exact details. "How was the vault accessed and why was my flash drive only taken from others?"

I walked into the house, as Mr. Chin opened the door, while two of my men stood outside. He offered me a cup of coffee, as I sat down listening to the story of how he was attacked last night by some trained group of assassins and they were ladies. They threatened to hurt his wife if he didn't cooperate. So he had no choice then to do as they say. Immediately they left. He called me on the phone.

Listening to that story made me so angry, angry that he refused my help in getting him security. Now my secret is about to get exposed and that won't happen.

There I was sitting on the couch, and listening to Mr. Chin talk, as I was thinking about my next move, then I got a call from one of the men I sent to do some findings.

"Hello, boss!"

"What's your status?"

"Boss we found them"

"Good job"
I smiled in satisfaction.

"But. There's an issue."

"What issue?" I inquired, as I was curious to know.

"They're Cyranoids."

"Cyranoids? Okay. Get one of them. He or she will lead us to their clients. And meet me at the warehouse."

Then I ended the call and stepped out of the house, as I drove to my warehouse waiting for Danjo.

Cyranoids are people that don't speak thoughts that are originated from their nervous system, but their words are originated from the mind of another person, transmitting them by radio transmission.

I sat on my old grey armchair, as I smoked my Montecristo cigarette, waiting patiently for Danjo and the Cyranoid he captured. Suddenly, a white Mercedes-Benz car drove inside the warehouse. Danjo with him was one for the Cyranoid face covered with a black cloth. He removed the veil off her, revealing her identity to me. She was dark in complexion, black long hair with green eyes that were attractive.

"Hello there, I have a question for you and I just need an answer."
Then I walked unto her, as I emptied my gun chamber in my Glock.45, I secretly hid the last bullet in my chest pocket but made her think the bullet was in the chamber as I rolled the revolver and pointed the gun at her, and whispered to one of my men. "Once she goes online, track her radio transmission signal and get the client's location immediately."

"Now, let us begin. Who sent you?" I asked

She smiled and said. "Nobody"

"Okay," I pulled the trigger at her.

I repeated it the second time.

"Oh, my dear. This is your last chance. Who hired you." I pointed my Glock.45 at her.

"Wait! Please. I'll go online now. So that you can speak with the client."

She took out her ear pod with her intraocular lens and placed them respectively.

"I'm online now."

"Hello there."

Immediately she went online, we tapped into her transmission signal.

"Now take it off."
I ordered her.

"Boss!! Mr. Townsend."

I slowly turned to hear what the hacker had to say.

"Yes?"

"We got the location."

"Haha, Good! Danjo let her go now."

"It was just a trick." I smiled at her.

The End

All characters, scenes are all fictional.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency