Drama Is King

IMG_8484.jpg
Drama is King. Is that not why Titanic was such a big hit. People’s dreams and hopes crushed into the ocean. Even the lovebirds could have both been saved, but no, Jack had to die.

People like this, the reason why it is one of the highest-grossing movies of all time. Loves and lives smashed. It’s either they feel better about not being in the same boat, pun intended, or on the flip side, misery loves company.

So, yes I knew what I was doing, but I don’t regret it. I needed the money- we needed the money, to renew and reinvent, and we all need money for that.

Besides people like drama, and playing the victim. Yes, there will be some pain, but it will be a great story to share. And in the end, it benefits all parties. I was just redirecting the energy, to be a win-win that included me.

“Bindi, hurry up. You know your uncle. He does not like to wait.”

That’s Mum. Dear Mum who would never believe what her daughter was capable of. Supportive and maybe even a little gullible - I do love her to bits. Every time, we declare our devotion to each other, she ends it with “I love you more” and I leave it at that because it probably is true.

The night it happened Mum was at home, crying her heart out watching some K-drama. See, people just love the tears. And even better when the story belongs to them. So they can regurgitate and embellish to anyone who’ll listen and sympathise.

“Mum, I’m ready. Thank you for doing this.”

“I know you Bindi, surely there’s an explanation to all of this.”

What do you say to that? You just nod and hug her. Would I ever be capable of being a mother? One like Mum? I doubt it. I believe a relationship is two ways. Even a child needs to know that. Mum never demanded it of me but I will.

Wait, her eyes tell me that there’s a part of her that believes I did do it. Not as gullible as I thought but loyal. I nodded my head in response. Not because I can’t tell a lie but I was still deciding on the lie.

The silence between us was so loud, thank goodness the 23-year-old car, older than me, Mum reminded me ever so often, clunked its way and blanketed the awkwardness. Speed dial on the dot, she never broke rules. Mum was lost in her thoughts. So was I.

We pulled up into the driveway and Uncle Ray was already standing outside, smoking. His wife never let him smoke inside. Maybe his smoking habit was a way to get his time off when he needed a break from her.

“Hmmmm” he grunted as we climbed out of the car. Trailing behind Mum gave me the chance to look him in the eye. Eyes locked and I knew that one of us was going to bleed.

He snuffed out the cigarette in a coke can and pushed it behind the potted plant with his foot. Not once did he take his eyes off me. Did he not know by now that I did not get scared.

“Wait, before we go in. Marla is in tears and she’s very upset. It took a lot to convince her not to call the police. I’ve explained to her it’s a family affair,” he said to Mum.

“Ray, I’m not sure what’s going on. Bindi won’t talk to me and you won’t say much. All I’ve got is Marla calling me in tears, screaming and threatening-”

The door opened and Marla walked out. Her eyes were puffed up. She should cry for the man she’s married. The poor woman does not know that she’s sleeping with more than a cheat. The question is, does she want to hear the truth. Do I want to tell the truth?

Uncle Ray immediately stepped in front of her so we couldn’t see her and whispered something into her ear. They walked in, we trooped after.

page divider orange.png

Now, let me tell you my side of the story. You can judge me if you want to, but I'd also like to know what you think I should do.

Uncle Ray, the big shot, the guy who worked so hard, he is so smart, worked himself out of poverty and up into the success. He was the family hero, the benchmark.

His sister, my mother - well she married for love a loser. Who cares if he was an honest, hard-working man with no luck on his side and the nail in his coffin, literally, cancer. And the poor man didn’t even smoke. How cruel is life’s jokes?

Then it was just Mum and me. Sure, she took some handouts from her brother, but he made sure she got shovels of salt rubbed into her wounds. Perhaps all that angst towards his wife was layered on and knocked into the one who was in no position to say anything back. After a couple of years, she stopped taking and chose to downsize, minimalize and dry her eyes in front of the telly.

It’s heartbreaking to see a woman, who once held her head up with pride for her integrity shrivel and refuse to leave her house unless it was absolutely necessary. And when the bank threatened to take the house when we only had another year to go, I couldn’t, I just couldn't.

I obviously did not take after Mum or Dad when it comes to honesty and integrity. I’d say, I take after Uncle Ray. If there’s anything I’ve learned from Uncle Ray is kindness and goodness makes you stupid and ultimately lose out.

So yes, when he casually asked that same old question he had asked for the last 5 years, "if everything was okay", not really caring for an answer, I took the opportunity to tell him it wasn’t.

That's when the wheels started turning. It spun so fast, I was too giddy to think straight after the first 5 minutes. The drama unfolded like it did in the movies.

You see, Uncle Ray was in a bit of trouble with his wife. He wouldn’t tell me much, but I’m guessing he found out that she found out that he was seeing someone else and had some evidence. So he needed to stage a robbery, and he gave me a list of things I should take including his phone which was supposedly lost but was in actual fact in Marla's possession, in her secret (not-so-secret) hideaway.

Complicated right?

So, we laid out the plan, he was to take her out for a nice family meal with the kids for her birthday, now that the restrictions allowed dine-ins. He’d do all the necessary for me to get in, I’d get the stuff, leave the place in a mess and they'd come home and walk into a robbery. The phone with the evidence of his cheating ways would be gone, and things will go back to normal.

He'd help pay off our debts with a little extra in my pockets and it’d be a win-win.
Excellent plan, right? The only thing we had not anticipated was Marla’s friend swinging by to surprise her with a cake, then calling her, Marla saying there was no one at home, and her friend saying there was.

Ta-dahhhh!! There goes the plan.

I was already on the way out when they came right back. I just slammed on the accelerator and made a dash for it. Maybe, she did not notice the car, Mum’s loud 23-year-old rickety car. Maybe, it was just wishful thinking. I literally saw dollar notes with flapping wings getting away from me.

Then came the calls, the crying, the why’s. Uncle Ray calling me and promising me to double if I got rid of the phone and never speak of it.

page divider orange.png

So, here we are in the living room. Aunty Marla has started crying again. Mum is trying to console her. And Uncle Ray is playing his part of the good brother, good husband and good uncle.

My rehearsed reply iss "out of desperation to help Mum, had only meant to take a couple of things, had not meant to hurt anyone", then return the things I had taken except for the phone. And if she asked, swear that everything was hazy and all I had taken had been returned, but we both knew that she wasn't going to ask. The mystery of the missing phone will be forever silenced.

So, do I tell the truth or do I take the money? We need it. It's Mum's home and my way out from this god-forsaken town and family. I could just run far, far away, leave all this behind and start afresh. 3 months to my 18th and it'll be a gift I give myself.

Sigh... I still hear them talking, but I’m not listening, I’m thinking….
To tell or not to tell...

page divider orange.png

This is my story inspired by this week's prompt "run" from The Ink Well. Hope you enjoyed it, and of course if you would like to help Bindi decide, that'd be great Should she tell or not? :D

Thank you for reading,
Sh33la

Image Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency