The Family picnic:The Inkwell Writing Prompt #23

The Christmas season is always a special one for me, not because of the luxuries we enjoy but the time we spend as a family on the beach during picnics. My name is Deborah, I'm 18, 5.8ft tall, and chocolate in complexion, my dad is military personnel who is always far from home, he comes home only at the end of the year and returns in January every new year. I became fond of him when I was 7, he always tells us a story each time he was with us and ensured we had no dull moments. Some years later he joined the military and gave much time to his call.

I was happy to learn he was coming back home to spend Christmas with us.
"Deby" my mum called, she's the only one in the house who doesn't call me by my full name.
"Yes mum", I answered rushing out of the kitchen.
"Your dad is coming back home next week, and we shall be going to the beach".
I ran inside the room to inform the boys who seemed lost in the video game they were playing.
"Guess what?" I said smiling, the desperation to let out the news could be seen written all over my face.
" What?" One of the boys replied not looking in my direction.
"Dad is coming home". they all shouted in joy, everyone had missed him, it's been a while we saw him except his voice on the call. Days turned week as I remained expectant of his return, I couldn't wait to listen to one of his stories again.

img_0.99582431404921.jpg

Photo source

It was a cold evening shortly after a rainfall when I heard a knock at the door, I couldn't contain my happiness when I realized it was my dad standing at the door.
"My little Deborah, wouldn't you give daddy a hug?"
Quickly I cling myself to him, the evening was all lively as we sat at the dining table discussing all the events that transpired while he was away.
" We shall all go on a picnic at the beach" dad informed.
It was Christmas day, a very busy day for us as we made preparation for the picnic, dad has suggested that we spend our entire day at the beach since our friends will also be joining us this time.

It was a peaceful day, the sand at the seashore was whitish with grains of stones, the tall shrubs around it made the environment glitter with beauty, the atmosphere was clear, and the cold breeze from the sea made the air comfortable. We sat as a family on the sand while eating the delicacies that were prepared by my mum and me as dad told us a story of his last experience at a picnic he attended in his youth. We also played varieties of games with friends that involved answering questions from a picked number. The day ended well, everyone had fun and we got home all exhausted from the day.
"We still have more picnics to attend" dad announced the following morning, "I was given two months' leave to have a good time with my family".

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency