Taking Web Development to the next level | $1,200 USD in courses

I know, I know, what the hell are you doing Eric? Paying for courses when all the information is out there for free? Just find a good YouTuber or deep dive in freecodecamp, stackoverflow, w3schools or whatever and you'll find the same things but you won't have to pay a dime.

Well, you are right, I might be over reaching here, especially because I bought courses for all the languages I want to learn, even though I know I won't learn them right away, and all the learning material and topics are out there for free but here's the thing:

First of all, I need the certificates. I know certificates are jackshit when it comes to getting a job, and I'm not even sure I do want to get a job, after all, the endgame is to become a Dapp developer for Hive and to create my own app for normies at the same time, while maybe making some side money with my coding skills. But I might want to get a job, and despite the fact that your portfolio and projects speak for yourself when you want to land a job (especially in a first world country), the reality is that some if not most companies still care about that little piece of paper called diploma/certificate.

While Udemy is no match for a proper diploma from a top university, according to Forbes, companies still care about diplomas, and while this is slowly changing and HR is looking beyond the piece of paper, this is not a reality yet.

So, on top of making the most out of free online resources, I still bought 12 Udemy courses.

Why? Again? Well, you're right, maybe I shouldn't have, and getting Udemy certificates means almost nothing and it is not a proper reason and doesn't make sense to spend 4 months of minimum wage of a regular mexican in Udemy Web development courses.

Well, hackernoon and pretty much every other place I went looking, says that Udemy is the best online learning platform for Software development. I know they may be biased and I know Udemy could just be paying them to be their parrot, so I bought a JavaScript Full course first, tested it - I'm at 10% completion now - and I decided it it worth the money.

image.png

But wait, I still haven't told you why, you're right. You'll have to wait, first, check out all the courses I bought for the small amount of $1,200 USD:

On September 7th I shared with you guys my intention of becoming a developer and I listed all the skills I need to acquire to even have a chance to be successful at it. I spent a whole day researching what, how and why I need to learn and damn, it seemed like a long way to go - now it seems like a humongous shaky path to go - but it is damn worth it.

So based on that list I decided to make a bundle kind of purchase and overkill it:

image.png

PHP for Beginners - 38 hours - This course will help me get all the fundamentals of Procedural PHP, Object Oriented PHP, MYSQLi, and ending the course by building a CMS system similar to WordPress, Joomla, or Drupal.

Build Responsive Real-World Websites with HTML and CSS - 37 hours - This course is for when my JavaScript skills are off the charts and I'm ready to actually build websites.

Java Programming Masterclass - 80 hours - I'm not even gonna describe this, this is actually one of the last if not last course I'll take, I just bought it because I know at some point I'll have to learn Java.

** Advanced CSS and Sass - 28 hours** - Once I'm an adept in CSS I'll being this course, this is right after JS and the beginner CSS course, I'll begin this one shortly.

Ultimate MySQL Bootcamp - 21 hours - I already know SQL from my corporate days, but this course hopefully will take me to the next level of database manipulation.

The complete Reac Fullstack course - 77 hours - This monster of a course supposedly will teach me everything I need to take my JS skills to the next level with React, Node js, Express, MongoDB and ES6

image.png

Javascript: The advanced concepts - 25 hours - According to the course creator, I will be on the top 10% of JS devs with this course. I'm not buying that idea, but at least I'll learn something extra for JS.

The complete Python Course - 35 hours - According to the author "This course will take you from beginner to expert in Python, easily and smartly. We've crafted every piece of content to be concise and straightforward, while never leaving you confused. This course will dive right into Python and get you productive from the very beginning. ". I'm not quite sure, I was convinced Python would be the most complicate and hardest skill to master and yet, this course is only 35 hours long, but we'll see.

Master the coding Interview - 20 hours - This is a skill I need. I've been in the corporate world and I know how to move around, but the corporate dev world might hold many hidden secrets so, why not. According to the course creator, a Senior Software Dev, "Ultimate coding interview bootcamp. Get more job offers, negotiate a raise: Everything you need to get the job you want!". We'll see.

Complete Python Developer in 2021 - 31 hours - This is a project oriented course because yeah, as I said above, I'm not sure Python can be mastered with only 30 hours of one single course so, whyNotBoth.jpg

10 Mega responsive Websites with HTML, CSS and JS - 22 hours - I think the name says it all ain't it?

50 projects in 50 days - 19 hours - Or if you know me, this will be like 50 projects in 10 days or something. A purely project-based course geared toward beginners, but intermediate developers can also enjoy creating new things. This course includes 50 mini projects in HTML, CSS & JavaScript that relate to the DOM.

You're still here? And you're still wondering why did I spend so much money - at least for third world standards - in such courses?

Well, you're still here, so you deserve I tell you why. When you open a Udemy account you get a one week 90% discount in all courses you buy, so in reality I just spent $110 bucks for a bundle that is worth 1,200 US dollars.

There you have it, that's the cherry on top. If all the reasons stated above were not enough, imagine that I paid for all these courses the amount that a US citizen, a Korean or a European spend on one night out and drinks in the city.

What? Are you nuts? Did you really think I spent 1,200 dollars - which I don't even have at the moment - in courses? Are you out of your mind? What am I, some San Francisco, Starbucks drinker, try hard Hipster, wannabe developer?

100 bucks. Pretty sick deal, right?


image.png

So now I'm fully committed. You will have to take my Dev Posts every 2-3 days because I would enjoy very much to share this path with you guys, especially because as I said, I want to make a full "How to become a Fullstack Developer" Guide here on Hive for everyone that is interested and doesn't have the resources to pay for a course bundle like I did.

Oh right! I almost forgot. I have a little over 430 hours worth of courses. A long journey awaits. And I am loving it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency