Sunday Stuff

095EBC59-2D02-417E-8480-D06E0A5F9ADD.jpeg
Hey Weekenders!

Hope you’re having a good one. My weekend is coming to an end on a high. I’ve just signed up to do a 5 day hike starting next week Thursday and I’m pumped and a little scared all at the same time!!!!

I hike OFTEN but not multi-day sleepover hikes so this is going to be a first for me. (Although I did 1 overnight hike in high school.) This hike is called the Outeniqua Hike in the Wilderness area of the Western Cape. Basically a days drive to Wilderness, sleepover at a backpacker for a night and start the hike first thing the next morning, 5 days hiking and then get a shuttle back to the cars and drive home.

3D7C642C-C688-4E42-BC4D-E3C464FA9CA6.jpeg
everything plus toiletries

I’ve already got my list sorted and now need to get a jump on gathering everything I need for the hike. It’s the type of hike where you e got to carry EVERYTHING from sleeping bag, to food and cutlery and there’s no electricity so I’m just giving you a warning that I might go off the grid for a few days from the 8th July for almost a WEEK.

In the meantime I’m borrowing a few things from my sister and then need to head out and buy a new weather proof jacket. Turns out my tiny puffy Kway that I hiked in yesterday won’t cut it because I got soaked through from a tiny downpour on the mountain.

My list to pack is quite substantial so hopefully my sisters bag will make the cut otherwise I’m running out to buy a bag last minute and that’s not ideal. There’s no time for bargain hunting right now and the budget is limited.

I kinda floated the idea with my husband last week to ease him into the idea and mentioned there MIGHT be a spare spot on this hike. Then Friday I again mentioned the hike and the dates and how long it was. And then today BOOM I told him I want to do it and the space is definitely free for me!!!! Woohooo! The art of influence right there. Bread crumbs always lead to the prize.

Basically I have to stock the freezer and fridge before I leave and make sure that my husband and son have EVERYTHING they need. I think my family have gotten too used to me being home for the last 18 months. It’s time for them to miss me and appreciate me again and I reckon this hike will do the trick.

0FDCEABF-DB3D-4787-A554-9B894D2EED37.jpeg

Other than my planning for the trip and jacket shopping we had a cool morning walking along the beach and a coffee with my sister and my mom.

28DC91A6-350E-4A2B-AA64-8C78344EDA52.jpeg

And of course yesterday’s hike was epic, which I already blogged about. You can go check it out! It’s got the most beautiful views.

Right now though I’m off to boil some veg to go with the Beef Stroganoff (@wynela ‘s recipe again… such a winner) that I made for dinner. Salivating just thinking about it and the house smells so good!!!

Ok have a great week and don’t forget to blog about it.

C5325B1C-6547-485E-9D80-C68ED6438DE2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency