My Daughters first driving lesson: I need a shoulder massage desperately

DDD09B7A-81B0-4B0D-BFF3-83EFAD16E9D2.jpeg

Ok so today was the start of an era as I took my daughter on her very first driving lesson!

She managed to fail her learners license the first time so 2 weeks later we went back and she PASSED! Hallelujah. I can stand going to that place. The cues, the inept administration, the cues. I’m so glad we don’t have to go back for a good few months.

Anyway I was quite surprised when she didn’t immediately ask me to teach her to drive! I think with the relief of passing she just needed a break. I did too.

So Thursday I offered to take her driving on Friday in the carpark near our home. She made all her plans around this time to make sure she could have a go in the car and boy oh boy was she keen.

I drove us to the carpark already explaining clutch control - all our cars are manual or stick shift, not many automatics out here so she has to pass her drivers license with a manual. Clutch control is probably the hardest part so we started there.

82036537-8A10-4BA0-AFFA-CC754EA853B0.jpeg

She got into the drivers seat and I started explaining the order of operation of starting the car. And what do you know, she kept reaching for the hand break before the car was even in gear!!! If you roll even slightly you fail in our drivers test, so that’s a fail. I’m not looking forward to teaching hill-starts.

She actually didn’t do too badly for a first time ever in the driver’s seat. Only a couple stalls and the rest of the time I had her driving circles in the lot. Then figure 8’s... all in first gear. Ha ha ha. I also started teaching her observation for turning... look left, indicate left, look again before you turn. Look right, indicate right, look again before you turn.

Our main focus was to pull off using her clutch control and then stopping without stalling. Half circle around the lot, stop, go, half circle, stop and switch off, start car, go, etc. I think we will be doing this for a looooong time.

Here’s a little video of a minute of your life that you’ll never get back:

Hee heee heeeee....

I need a shoulder massage so badly right now.

11890029-CDD7-4823-85D6-46279D98D686.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency