Bae-cause of you...

Will you ever date a geeky neighbor?

I’m talking about a thin, curly-haired gamer dude who walks like he tiptoes and doesn’t bother to say hi to anyone he meets.

Ew.

Hell, no!

That’s what I said to myself.

Why on earth would my 12-year old self date someone who lives just down the street and not to mention, someone who is just as geeky as I am? (I have to admit. I was and still am a nerd. And just like any teenager back then, I wanted someone fun and dreamy and hot and everything I’m not.)

And so I did find this guy.

Funny. Ruggedly handsome. Captain of the football team. Great height. Killer smile. You name it!

And just like any varsity guy you see in movies, this one was an asshole.

And they just kept coming. One guy after the other. One failed relationship after another. Well, I got what I asked for, right?

So, I took a break from it all. I didn’t want to think about it AT ALL. I impulsively hopped on a plane, went on a solo trip and from then on, I had the world at my feet. 🤘

photo_2021-09-10_22-44-51.png
Waiting for my flight be like

I went traveling around and outside the Philippines. I wanted to focus on myself. I gave up on my 9-5 job and took on a freelance one. Because no work restraints meant more freedom to travel. I got more active in church organizations. I even took up post-graduate classes and two more freelance jobs. I figured, the busier I was, the less time I have to worry about anything else, right? That’s how focused I was on “building” myself.

So, the semester was about to end. I was just about to get some coffee before heading home and look who I bumped into?

Yep, you’ve guessed it!

Remember that geeky neighbor dude I mentioned? Well, I have a confession to make. Despite not liking him at the start, we’ve actually become good friends. But nothing beyond the friendzone.

When he had a girlfriend, I was the person he told about his adventures and fights with her.

When I had a boyfriend, he was the one who listened.

When I just had my heart broken, he was the listening ear and even got me into jogging to “sweat it out”. Yeah, right. But hey, it worked! I felt better after that.

When he and his long-term girlfriend/sort-of fiancé broke up, I was there. He told me all about it. The details -- how he felt, what he wanted to do, what he should have done, and how surprisingly happy or relieved he is that it’s over.

So yeah, we were free from all that toxicity in a relationship. We were both working on ourselves, having each other’s support.

I went travelling and working and studying. He bought a bike, travelled, socialized, ventured to his other passions (which he never had time to do back when he was in a relationship).

So going back...We met in the shop. Turns out he was waiting for me to finish my classes. 😳

More of these scenarios and a few dates then poof!
We became a couple!

1.png

2.png

Fast forward to our 8th month together and we decided to get married! But why so early? Is it too fast??

At times, I would ask myself, “Why him?” and “Why now?” and I figured I felt at peace. Everything seems so smooth and light with him. There is no other person I would rather spend my lifetime with but with this geeky neighbor. (P.S. He’s not so geeky anymore! I did tell you he was working with himself too, right? That also meant hitting the gym and getting a better self-care routine which, I might add, suits him very well. Hubba hubba!) 😍

Sharing our DIY pre-nuptial photos here:

3.png

4.png

We’re fans of going on long trips to mountain resorts. There’s just something about those hills and the cool breeze and city lights at night that makes it so romantic!

So the big day came… and it happened during the PANDEMIC! Talk about against all odds. But hey, the odds were in our favour that time. Honestly, we were so blessed to have gone through it all.

_MG_6947.jpg

_MG_7143.jpg

There are so many things I have realized when tying the knot that day. And so many things have changed since then…

Because of you, I’ve learned to share aspects in my life that I thought I could do better alone.
Because of you, I now know how to cook!
Because of you, I take far more risks than what I normally do.
Because of you, I now stare roaches dead in the eye (no more running for me!)
Because of you, I have become brave.
And because of you, I am at peace.
I’m super optimistic and looking forward to the things we will achieve together.
And I can’t wait!!

To my geeky neighbor
My best friend
My confidante
My travel buddy
My boyfriend
My hubby
And everything else in between...

I love you, now and forever.

You may not be much of a reader but I hope that a few years from now, this will be a sort-of memento we can happily look back on. ❤

photo_2021-09-10_23-20-10.jpg
Here’s us now. Chillin’ ✨

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency