Weekend at Drill

As the day of September 11th ends, I spend my weekend, and 18th year in the Army National Guard reflecting.

myhat.jpg
My hat with CPT rank on the beach of Snake Pond near Joint Base Cape Cod

I took this photo of my hat just a couple hours ago, at Snake Pond near Joint Base Cape Cod which is home to Otis Air Force Base.


If you have read my other articles, you know that I like to meditate. This helps me relax, be present, and be at peace. This is why I was at the pond.


There is history at this base with 9/11, as this base is where the F15 scrambled out of to head to NYC

After I left Snake Pond, I took a photo of this jet during sunset today.
f15.jpg



My Background

I served a tour in Kosovo in 2008 as a Combat Engineer in the rank of E-4, and deployed to Afghanistan in 2012 as a platoon leader in the rank of Second Lieutenant for an Engineering unit.

afghanistan.jpg
Conducting ECP operations for an incoming shipment at Fob Mescall

Our mission, as an Engineering unit was to build up or tear down small contingency operating bases or forward operating bases.

afghanistan2.jpg
Soldiers from my platoon installing roof panels at Fob Mescall

Because our mission was unique, we spent most of our time on the road. Traveling all throughout Afghanistan to build up or tear down a small base.

myplatoon.jpg
My platoon leaving Fob Mescall down Highway 1

Because of this, there were many close calls. Situations such as just missing a massive improvised explosive device that took out an entire bridge we drove by 10 minutes ago, or clearing our home base to go home, right before a car bomb exploded at the entrance has never left my mind. Throughout the many times we had gone through an event, my platoon was lucky in that we did not sustain any injuries.

Fob Pasab
Fob Pasab where we called home when we were not on the road was attacked a week after we left to go home
Source: Fob Pasab attacked

Although we were physically sound, mentally, my Soldiers went through a lot. Being an engineering unit, we would sometimes be tasked with missions that only heavy equipment could get through. One of these was clearing a mine field with our D7 Dozers and MICLICs due to the loss of a squad of U.S. forces patrolling through the area. The D7 Dozers were used due to not being able to use a MICLIC in close proximity to a village.
if you have never heard of a MICLIC, it's basically a tank with a rocket that is attached to a cord. The cord is all C4 and clears a wide lane for troops to go through
MICLIC
Source: MICLIC on Wikipedia


Present Day - The weekend

The recent news of U.S. forces pulling out of Afghanistan hit many of the Soldiers I served with in different ways.

I spoke with my service members today, and the biggest take away is that our forces have been there for 20 years changing minds of what is possible.

For 20 years, the people of Afghanistan have known freedom, education and democracy. Many of them were born into that environment and knew nothing else. If these are taken away, the people of Afghanistan will know what they are losing, and they will not want to let it go. The people of Afghanistan will fight back.

To many of us in the military, that is a success.

Many of you may feel differently, but that's okay. We all have different opinions and I respect that.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency