Domestic Nomadic Bliss at the Weekend

Hail the the Hive!

Well I have been neglecting my Hively duties ladies and gentlemen but with good cause I can assure you. For the last few weeks we have been moored up at a boatyard getting our engine removed and replaced by a brand spanking new one and as such our routine ( if you can call it that ) has been turned upside down. But, as it happens, a lot of positive things have happened for us aside from the installation of Badger the Narrowboat's new power plant.

The boaters who live or have boats moored at this particular wharf have embraced us as family and have been incredibly kind to us. A couple who have their boat named after the famous vampire 'Nosferatu" realised we didn't have a washing machine onboard and gifted us one that they have spare on their boat.

B34F8956-A9AF-423E-BB1C-89034F64A8D4.jpeg

It was missing a couple of inlet hoses but nothing a little innovation can't sort out for sure. @millycf1976 has mostly been washing our stuff by hand as there isn't always a laundrette on hand and to be honest i never liked that she would be washing my underwear by hand. You see in my mind there is a special place in hell for someone to wash my dirty skidders by hand and it's not what I believe @millycf1976 should have signed up for.

89940555-2A29-4F4E-A1F2-CCA973225B52.jpeg

So I had a little look on ye olde youtube to see how it operated and improvised with putting water in by bucket and hey presto it all went very smoothly. And in the morning sun on the stern deck I have to say it was all quite pleasant.

BDCB503E-8FC0-4D54-9ADB-14DB2B55FA38.jpeg

I was clearly enjoying myself in this nomadic state of domestic bliss happy in the knowledge that the lovely @millycf1976 would now not have to scrub my skidders clean any more 😃.

BF0FE08C-F395-46AC-B55A-FED6D13B6480.jpeg

In fact i did several loads as I sipped coffee and browsed hive but then in the distance pesky mother nature was intent on spoiling the party. Was she upset that I'd freed @millycf1976 for skidder wash duty? I am not sure.

1578E66C-372A-427F-99F1-70CAD8E5141E.jpeg

I made a hasty retreat and hid inside Badger the Narrowboat watching the awful Mordor like weather engulf us. But I was happy. We now have another piece of our watery nomadic life puzzle in place and it works a treat. Waht a bonus also that it was gifted to us. I do love the boating community!

00AAB87B-1710-4955-A54C-543EF3804473.jpeg

SHGIF.gif

NEON.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency