I Wouldn't Want To Be A Leaf Now

Sometimes (actually quite often) prayers are answered later than we wanted. This year we had an extremely hot, stiflingly hot, scorching summer. We prayed a lot for the rain to come. It didn't come.

This is the first weekend eminently rainy. My prayers must have taken a longer, more circuitous route to the Recipient, for they were answered with great haste, yesterday. A little too late, because summer is long gone, the heat no longer bites us...

Still, a request fulfilled is no small thing and I have to be grateful. I have to say that it's actually been raining for a week and now I've decided to take a walk in the nearby park. For a week I almost didn't leave the house, because of the rain, because of the covid, which is now very angry with the Romanians and is wreaking havoc at a time when we, naive people, really thought we had escaped it. A walk in the park, in the autumn rain, can be sublimely beautiful in these circumstances...

In life, we have good and bad, joys and sorrows, fulfillments and unfulfillments, and so on... A cheap philosophy of life! Everybody knows that. I want to say that among the joys and blessings of life is the fact that I live on a street that ends in a park!

I like to say that my street is a river that flows into the green sea of the park. Willing, unwilling, when I leave home I have to cross this park. Of course, I want to! This weekend takes me for a walk in the park at the end of the street!

After a week of just staying indoors, I was amazed to see how much autumn has descended upon us. The first sign, beyond the rain, is the color, or rather the coloring of the leaves on the trees.

img_20211014_102638.jpg

I understand that my neighbor down the street has also been in the house all week, like me, so the yellowed leaves almost covered his car.

Immediately behind his house is a derelict (for a short time, I think) piece of land. Vegetation, nature, can't wait to find a place where it's not disturbed and is encroaching and growing impetuously. Now it's even breaking through the old fence.

img_20211014_102648.jpg

Just a few steps and I enter our old park. I say old because it was laid out at the beginning of the last century on the site of an even older forest. To be precise about the location, let me say that the park is called Bazilescu, after the name of the man who donated this place to the city.

I am greeted with a carpet of leaves.

img_20211014_102806.jpg

My favorite alley, the chestnut alley. The alley bordered by chestnut trees.

img_20211014_110942.jpg

The advantage of walking in the rain is that the park is deserted. I mean almost deserted...

img_20211014_111148.jpg

img_20211014_111149.jpg

I said I wouldn't want to be a leaf now. I really don't when I see what leaves have become. On the ground, trampled. And that's just the beginning.

img_20211014_111020.jpg

There are not only fallen leaves in the chestnut alley, there are chestnuts, of course. If it were warmer and drier on the ground, children would happily gather these chestnuts and play with them, but like this, they stay in the water. In the grass.

img_20211014_111004.jpg

img_20211014_111030.jpg

img_20211014_111749.jpg

Some of the luckier leaves have fallen onto the park benches and are, for now, protected from the water.

img_20211014_111631.jpg

I love listening to music. I listen whenever possible. For example, when I read posts in Hive, when I write posts in Hive. Of course, I still listen. Playlists on Spotify, I like to listen to what others suggest, I like to discover music I don't know. An interesting coincidence happened, among the songs that appeared on the list is this song from Wishbone Ash - Leaf and Stream. When I saw Leaf when I was writing about leaves it seemed like a sign that I had chosen the right subject. The song is gorgeous and a must-have here.

I kept looking for leaves and saw a helicopter in the sky. I thought for a moment that it might fall like the autumn leaves. Foolish thoughts, but they're out of control. Fortunately, nothing bad happened.

img_20211014_111117.jpg

img_20211014_111120.jpg

img_20211014_111125.jpg

Now, to explain a little why such thoughts, I have to say that I worked for a while for work protection, accident, and emergency prevention. Although it has been more than ten years since I stopped working, every time I think of an object or an action the first thing that comes to my mind is a possible accident. My wife is angry with me and says I'm obsessed. Fortunately, the vast majority of the catastrophes I have imagined have not happened! Anyway, it's good to be preventive and think about the consequences of all your activities.

The wetness and cold wouldn't let me stay in the park and I had to stomp the leaves again on the way home.

img_20211014_111836.jpg

The route back was identical to the one that took me to the park, so I passed the neighbor's car again, who had not yet found out that it was covered in yellow leaves fallen from the trees. The yellow leaves give a special light, illuminating the place like a small sun on the warmth.

img_20211014_112039.jpg

img_20211014_112101.jpg

Another spectacular little weekend spent at home, in the warmth, with movies, music, Hive. Just this fairly short walk meant that much-needed change to banish boredom and monotony. A weekend in the pandemic era!

xet.png

This post was made for:

THE WEEKEND, the community founded by @galenkp

and

#sublimesunday, topic proposed by @c0ff33a
#beautifulsunday, topic proposed by @ace108

xet.png

every_picture.jpg

xet.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency